Give Now

Hunt Leadership Scholars Program


Faculty and Staff

The Office of the Provost administers the Hunt Leadership Scholarship Program. The Program Director is Professor Linda Eads. Other staff members include Lindsay Davis, Program Coordinator, and Professor Stephen Sekula, Faculty Mentor to the Hunt Leadership Scholars Program.

Linda Eads

Professor Linda Eads is the Associate Provost responsible for faculty affairs in the Provost's Office and serves as the Director of the Hunt Leadership Scholars Program. She also serves on various committees and task forces, including the Educational Programs Committee, the Center for Teaching Excellence Advisory Committee and the Community Engagement Council.

Professor Eads has taught at the School of Law since January 1986. She teaches and writes in the areas of evidence, legal ethics, constitutional law and women and the law. She has published articles in these areas in the California Law Review, the Washington University Law Quarterly and the Texas Journal of Women and Law. She also has co-authored a student guide titled Questions & Answers: Constitutional Law.

For three years, Professor Eads chaired the Texas State Bar’s committee that studied possible changes in the disciplinary rules that govern lawyer behavior. She was asked to chair this committee by the Texas Supreme Court. In 2007, Linda received the State Bar’s President’s Award—the highest award given by the State Bar of Texas—for her work in chairing this committee.

From January 1999 to September 2000, Professor Eads was on leave from the University in order to assume the post of Deputy Attorney General for Litigation for the State of Texas. In this position she directed the State’s civil litigation and supervised more than 300 lawyers in the 10 civil litigation divisions in the Texas Attorney General’s Office.

Professor Eads received her B.A. in International Studies with Honors from the American University located in Washington, D.C. and she earned her J.D. with Honors from the University of Texas at Austin. Prior to joining the Law School faculty, Professor Eads served as a trial attorney with the Tax Division of the United States Department of Justice.

Steve Sekula

Professor Stephen Sekula is an Assistant Professor of Experimental Physics in the Physics Department. In addition, he is a member of the Faculty Advisory Board to the Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute and is a member of the SMU Center for Scientific Computation. He is a member of the international ATLAS Collaboration, a group of 3000 physicists from over 177 research institutions in 38 countries. The ATLAS Experiment, operated by the collaboration, is located at the Large Hadron Collider at the CERN particle physics laboratory in Geneva, Switzerland. ATLAS is an 8-story-tall, 50-yard-long, 100-megapixel subatomic digital camera, capable of taking 400 million pictures per second. This allows physicists to capture images of subatomic particle collisions and study the debris in an attempt to determine the laws and building blocks of the cosmos.

Professor Sekula has been a member of the faculty since 2009. He has taught introductory physics courses for pre-health students, as well as a unique course introducing students to the scientific method and critical and creative thinking (one of only about twenty such courses at colleges and universities nationwide), and special physics seminars for graduate students. He is the recipient of the 2013 Golden Mustang Award, which is given each year to a junior, tenure-track faculty member, whose teaching is consistently excellent; whose courses reflect thoughtful curricular development; and whose scholarship makes a meaningful contribution to the discipline and to student learning. In addition, he mentors undergraduate and graduate students engaged in active research in particle physics.

In 2012, the origin of mass in the known universe was discovered by the ATLAS and CMS Experimental Collaborations: the Higgs Particle (known colloquially as "The God Particle"), which interacts with normal matter and in doing so results in what we call "mass." Professor Sekula has been involved in a number of studies of the newly discovered particle, including measuring its quantum properties. In addition, he has searched for additional Higgs particles in nature that might help explain the nature of the non-luminous matter that makes up 25% of the cosmos, known as "dark matter." Professor Sekula is recognized as an international leader in the quest to identify new particles and forces in nature.

Professor Sekula received his B.S. in Physics from Yale University in 1998 and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2004. He has held post-doctoral research positions at MIT and The Ohio State University, prior to joining the faculty at SMU.

Lindsay Davis

Lindsay Davis serves as the Assistant Director of the Hunt Leadership Scholars Program. She is also involved on campus as a Mustang Corral Staff Mentor, University Conduct Board Member, Common Reading Volunteer, and Residence Life & Student Housing research team member.

Lindsay came to SMU in 2012 with a background in university admissions. She graduated Summa Cum Laude from Texas Christian University in 2010 with a BBA in Entrepreneurial Management and a BA in Theatre. Lindsay earned her M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Southern Methodist University in 2014.