Robert Stewart Hyer

Born in Georgia and educated at Emory College, Robert Stewart Hyer began his distinguished career as professor of science at Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas. There, his experiments with ether waves and X-ray reportedly preceded those of Marconi, and he designed Texas' first wireless station, transmitting messages at distances of one mile. He became president of Southwestern University in 1898, then moved to Dallas in 1911 to become the founding president of Southern Methodist University.

It has been said that SMU is Robert Stewart Hyer's monument. He planned the campus, orienting its first building, Dallas Hall, with respect to the North Star. He selected the crimson of Harvard and the blue of Yale as the colors of the University and established Veritas Liberabit Vos as the motto. Translated "The truth shall make you free," this motto was his symbolic vision of the University. As the University became a reality, President Hyer spoke words applicable to each of us in our pursuits today: "While we rejoice over our success, we must remember that the task to which we have set ourselves has only begun ... and make claims to victory only to encourage ourselves to press on to greater things."



APRIL 30, 2023 12:00 P.M.

GRAND BALLROOM
HUGHES TRIGG STUDENT CENTER
SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

SMU

41st Annual Luncheon

PRESIDING

Elizabeth G. Loboa
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, SMU

WELCOME

R. Gerald Turner *President*, *SMU*

HYER SOCIETY VIDEO

INVOCATION

Lisa Garvin
Chaplain & Minister to the University, SMU

LUNCHEON

REMARKS

Holly Jeffcoat

Dean of SMU Libraries

2023 AWARD RECIPIENTS

University Achievement Award

Lily Derr Travis Nolan E.J. Rorem

University Award for Outstanding Scholar

Keely McNeme

INDUCTION

David D. Doyle

Dean, Honors & Scholars Programs and Adjunct Assistant Professor of History, SMU

Sophomore Class

Gabriel Mongaras Marcos Alejandro Zertuche Anna Kelley Zielke

Junior Class

Caden Scott Arras Aisha Akhtar Aslam Ying-Chu Chen* Ella Jane Dabney Caleigh Brynn Daugherty Lillian Grace Derr Vinita Ashwini Dixit* Emily A. Dudley Kristen Michelle Edwards Paige Marie Edwards Blake William Gebhardt Angela Sofia Goff Celia Luisa Handing Hailey Cathleen Hazen Elisabeth Grace Hood Anne Olivia Hulme Sarah Joyce Mende Travis Andrew Nolan Benjamin Michael Perry William Hughes Raiford Erik Jahveed Rorem Anna C. Su Jane Margaret Turner

**Inducted 2020-2021

*Inducted 2021-2022

Senior Class

Haley Elizabeth Adams* Sinan Martin Beskok** Helen Sophia Bougas Dedeepya Chinnam* Daniel Alexander Covert* Jackson Slade Covert* Raleigh Alexander Dewan* Thatcher Reed Dunlap* Alexandra Marie Eid Benjamin Trevor Feinstein* Liana Forss* Oliver Davis Forst* Katherine McCormick Goins* Brittney Jeanne Hutchison James Clifton Kays Henry Stephen Frederick Maw* Emily Tyler McCall* Emory James McDowell** Keely Alexis McNeme Ruth Ann Miller* Avery Nicole Nesson Justin Bryant Patty* Lindsey Nicole Philips Nicholas McGuire Simpson* Victoria Lynn Sullivan* Abigail Elizabeth Tirey* Kyle Matthew Voulgaris* Jordan Cortez Wartell** Laura Wildman Alexandra Hyde Yeager* Sophia Mae Zuckerman*