

SMU Faculty Career Achievement Award Ceremony

SMU Faculty Career Achievement Award Ceremony

April 15, 2024

Welcome from President R. Gerald Turner

Opening Remarks from Provost Elizabeth G. Loboa

Award Recognitions

Faculty Career Achievement Award Presentation

Closing Remarks

Reception

2023-2024 Faculty Career Achievement Award Honoree



Dr. Randall Griffin

University Distinguished Professor of Art History

2023-2024 Faculty Honorific Recognitions

Amber Bemak

Meadows School of the Arts – Film and Media John Simon Guggenheim Foundation - Guggenheim Fellow

Digvijay Boob

Lyle School of Engineering – OREM National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Award

Jung-Chih (JC) Chiao

Lyle School of Engineering – Electrical and Computer Engineering National Academy of Inventors Fellow

MinJun Kim

Lyle School of Engineering – Mechanical Engineering American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering Fellow

Carla L. Reyes

Dedman School of Law American Law Institute Member

Zhen Zhang

Cox School of Business – Management and Organizations American Psychological Association Fellow Cox School of Business

Sreekumar Bhaskaran – Information Technology and Operations Management eBusiness Cluster Best Paper Award: Runner Up - INFORMS

Dedman School of Law

Joanna Grossman 2024 Pro Bono Awards Honor Roll - Association of American Law Schools

> **Carla L Reyes** American Legal Technology Award in Education

> > **Christina Sautter** Fellow – American Bar Foundation

Lyle School of Engineering

LiGuo Huang - Computer Science ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award - Association for Computing Machinery

Nader Jalili – Mechanical Engineering Diamond Award for Academic Excellence in Education Leadership and Community Engagement – Not Alone Foundation Member – U. Conn Academy of Distinguished Engineers

Jianhui Wang - Electrical and Computer Engineering Highly Cited Researcher – Clarivate

Jessie Zarazaga - Civil and Environmental Engineering The Dunnigan Community Engagement Award - The Greater Dallas Planning Council Urban Design Awards

Dedman College of Humanities

Austin Baldwin - Psychology Fellow – Society of Behavioral Medicine

Katie Condon Hermes - English Fellow – Edwin and Marian MacDowell Walter E. Dakin Fellow – Sewanee Writers Conference

James F. Hollifield - Political Science Career Achievement Award – American Political Science Association

Andrea Laurent-Simpson - Sociology Distinguished Book Award - American Sociological Association

Devin Matthews - Chemistry James H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software - Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

> Kelly McKowen - Anthropology U.S. Scholar Award – Fulbright

Chul Moon - Statistics and Data Science Career Development Award - Korean International Statistical Society

Sanderia Faye Smith - English Yvonne Porter Endowed Residency – Louisa Stude Sarofim Charitable Trust

> **Beth Wheaton-Paramo** – Economics Piper Professor – Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation

Bonnie Wheeler – English Medieval Foremother Prize - International Congress on Medieval Studies

Antoinette Williams-Tutt – World Languages Thomas O. Enders Distinguished Dissertation Award - Association of Canadian Studies in the United States

Annika Wylie – Biology Scholar Award – Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas

Meadows School of the Arts

Ira Greenberg – Creative Computation Visiting Research and Knowledge Exchange Fellow - Goldsmiths, University of London

Barbara Hill Moore - Music

Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts - Lincoln University of Missouri Elizabeth Mathias Career Achievement Award - Mu Phi Epsilon Music Fraternity

> Adam Jasienski – Art History Eleanor Tufts Award - Society for Iberian Global Art

Carrie La Ferle – Advertising Fellow - David Livermore CQ - Cultural Intelligence

Gordon Law – Advertising Southwest Advertising Hall of Fame - American Advertising Federation

Brian Molanphy – Art Artist Residency - Cloud Forest Ceramics, Taipei, Taiwan

Kristina Nielson – Music

Fellow - American Scandinavian Foundation Denmark Project Support Award - Lois Roth Foundation for Cross-Cultural Dialogue

Abbey Stockstill – Art History Senior Residential Fellow – National Gallery of Art

Nishiki Sugawara-Beda – Art Acquisition and Installation to Permanent Collection – Dallas Museum of Art

Philip Van Keuren – Art Visiting Artist and Scholar Residency – The American Academy in Rome Artist Residency – The Vermont Studio Center

> **Quan Xie** – Advertising Research Fellow – American Academy of Advertising

Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Greta Davis – Counseling

Advocacy and Community Service Award - Texas Career Development Association

Michael Harris – Education Policy and Leadership Fellow – American Council on Education

Anthony Petrosino – Teaching and Learning Member - National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Board on Science Education committee