

Elizabeth G. Loboa, Ph.D. **Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs** Office of the Provost

September 10, 2021

TO:

Stephanie Knight, Dean, Simmons School of Education and Human Development and Search Committee Chair

Ernie Barry, Associate Vice President for Budgets and Finance

Thomas G. Burish, Member, SMU Board of Trustees, Provost Emeritus, University of Notre Dame

Corey Clark, Deputy Director, Research & Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Engineering, Human and Machine Intelligence Game Lab

Maria Dixon-Hall, Chief Diversity Officer

Bruce Gnade, Clinical Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering Randall Griffin, University Distinguished Professor, Meadows School of the Arts

Tom Hagstrom, Professor of Mathematics and Director of the Center for Research Computing, Dedman College

Leanne Ketterlin Geller, Professor, Texas Instruments Endowed Chair in Education, Director of Research in Mathematics Education and Faculty Fellow K-12 STEM Initiatives, Lyle School of Engineering

Elfi Kraka, Professor and Chair of Chemistry, Dedman College

Maribeth Kuenzi, Associate Professor, Albert W. Niemi Center for

Economic Growth and Leadership Development, Merriman Foundation Endowed Professor of American Capitalism, Management &

Organizations, Cox School of Business

Shannon Lunt, Assistant Vice President for Research

Bruce Marshall, Lehman Professor of Christian Doctrine, Perkins School of Theology

David Meltzer, Henderson-Morrison Professor of Prehistory and Director of Graduate Studies, Anthropology, Dedman College

Pam Metzger, Director of the Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center and Professor of Law, Dedman School of Law

Thomas Ritz, Professor of Psychology, Dedman College

Brian Stump, Albritton Professor of Earth Sciences, Dedman College Pia Vogel, Professor of Biological Sciences, Dedman College, Faculty Senate President

Paige Ware, Associate Provost for Faculty Success

FROM: Elizabeth G. Loboa, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

SUBJECT: Vice Provost for Research and Chief Innovation Officer Search

Committee

I write to ask you to serve on the Search Committee for the Vice Provost for Research and Chief Innovation Officer. The Search Committee will be comprised of representatives from members of the faculty and staff. I am pleased to announce that Dr. Stephanie Knight, Dean of the Simmons School of Education and Human Development, has agreed to accept the responsibility to serve as Chair of the committee.

The search for the Vice Provost for Research and Chief Innovation Officer will be assisted by Julie Filizetti, Partner of Isaacson, Miller. Julie focuses primarily on higher education leadership roles in public and private institutions, including presidents, provosts, vice presidents, deans, and directors. Since joining Isaacson, Miller in 2007, Julie has developed strong relationships with many clients who turn to Julie for her ability to adapt to an organization's needs and grow their leadership capacity.

Please contact Janet Dickman at jdickman@smu.edu by Monday, September 13, 2021, to let me know if you agree to serve on this important committee. The mandatory first meeting of the Committee will be held on Friday, September 24, 2021, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. At this meeting I will provide the charge to the members. A calendar invite with meeting logistics will follow.

cc: Julie Filizetti, Partner, Isaacson, Miller