O P E N I N G C O N V O C A T I O N



SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

The Nineteenth of August Two Thousand and Eighteen Half Past Five O'Clock McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 104th Opening Convocation. One hundred and three entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in the Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.



CARILLON CONCERT AND CALL TO CONVOCATION

Quarter Past Four O'Clock Fondren Science Tower John E. Wheeler, Carillonneur

ROTUNDA PASSAGE

ORDER OF EXERCISE

PROCESSIONAL

PRESENTATION OF Residential commons by Faculty in residence Imperial Brass

Ann Batenburg, Virginia-Snider Martin L. Camp, Crum Miroslava Detcheva, McElvaney Sandra Duhé, Cockrell-McIntosh Liljana Elverskog, Mary Hay/ Peyton/Shuttles Alice Kendrick, Loyd Mark Kerins, Morrison-McGinnis Rita Kirk, Armstrong W. Keith Robinson, Kathy Crow David Y. Son, Boaz Thomas W. Tunks, Ware

INVOCATION Betty McHone Assistant Chaplain and Coordinator of Religious Life Steven C. Currall WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs REMARKS Robert H. Dedman, Jr. '80, '84 Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees Dayna Oscherwitz President of the SMU Faculty Senate Nathan DeVera '19 Student Body President SPECIAL MUSIC "SMU Forever" by Jimmy Dunne Meadows Convocation Chorus Led by Pamela Elrod Huffman Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities Sarah England, Accompanist PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER R. Gerald Turner President CONVOCATION ADDRESS Thomas DiPiero Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Elena D. Hicks PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING Dean of Undergraduate Admission and Executive Director of **STUDENTS** Enrollment Services CHARGE TO THE STUDENTS AND R. Gerald Turner ACCEPTANCE OF THE CONVOCATION REGISTRY ALMA MATER "Varsity" Oh we see the Varsity, Varsity, Varsity, As she towers o'er the hill Over there. And our hearts are filled with joy, SMU, SMU, Alma Mater, we'll be true Forever! BENEDICTION Betty McHone RECESSIONAL Imperial Brass

OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Evelyn L. Ashley, Dean of Students ad interim

Gary Brubaker, Director of The Guildhall at SMU

Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs

- Marc P. Christensen, Dean and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Engineering Innovation of Lyle School of Engineering
- Jennifer M. Collins, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law of Dedman School of Law
- Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Holly E. Jeffcoat, Dean of SMU Libraries

Stephanie L. Knight, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

- Jill McGinness, President of the SMU Staff Association
- Kenechukwu (K.C.) Mmeje, Vice President for Student Affairs
- Barbara Hill Moore, Platform Party Marshal and Professor of Voice
- Matthew B. Myers, Dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership of Cox School of Business
- James E. Quick, Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies
- Harold W. Stanley, Vice President for Executive Affairs

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Thomas B. Fomby, *Chief Marshal* Bradley Kent Carter, *Chief Marshal* Emeritus Nathan S. Balke, *Procession Marshal* Hon Keung (Tony) Ng, *Assisting Procession Marshal*

Rhonda Blair, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals Heather DeShon, Marshal for Entering Students Edward J. Fox, Marshal for Entering Students Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal Barbara W. Kincaid, Faculty Marshal Daniel Reynolds, Phi Beta Kappa Marshal David Sedman, Marshal for Entering Students Steven B. Vik, Faculty Marshal Paul Yovanoff, Marshal for Entering Students

Todd Chiscano, Director of Academic Ceremonies



For more than 100 years, SMU has shaped minds, explored the frontiers of knowledge and fostered an entrepreneurial spirit in its seven degree-granting schools. Taking advantage of unbridled experiences on the University's beautiful campuses and SMU's relationship with Dallas – the dynamic center of one of the nation's fastest-growing regions – alumni, faculty and nearly 12,000 graduate and undergraduate students become ethical leaders in their professions and communities who change the world.