O P E N I N G C O N V O C A T I O N



SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

The Twenty-first of August
Two Thousand and Sixteen
Half Past Five O'Clock
McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 102nd Opening Convocation. One hundred and one entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in the Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.



CARILLON CONCERT AND CALL TO CONVOCATION

Quarter Past Four O'Clock Fondren Science Tower Andrea S. Adams, Carillonneur

ROTUNDA PASSAGE

ORDER OF EXERCISE

PROCESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

PRESENTATION OF
RESIDENTIAL COMMONS BY
FACULTY IN RESIDENCE

Ann Batenburg, Virginia-Snider

IS BY Martin L. Camp, Crum

E Miroslava Detcheva, McElvaney
Liljana Elverskog, Mary Hay/
Peyton/Shuttles
Alice Kendrick, Loyd
Mark Kerins, Morrison-McGinnis
Rita Kirk, Armstrong
Will Power, Kathy Crow
David Y. Son, Boaz
Thomas W. Tunks, Ware
Elizabeth Wheaton, Cockrell-McIntosh

INVOCATION

Stephen W. Rankin Chaplain and Minister to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Steven C. Currall Provost and

Vice President for Academic Affairs

REMARKS

Robert H. Dedman, Jr. '80, '84 Vice Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees

Jeanne Stevenson-Moessner

President of the SMU Faculty Senate

Blake Alan Rainey '17 Student Body President

SPECIAL MUSIC

"SMU Forever" by Jimmy Dunne Meadows Convocation Chorus Led by Pamela Elrod Huffman Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities Ligia Pucci, Accompanist

PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER

R. Gerald Turner President

THE OPENING CONVOCATION ADDRESS Steven C. Currall

PRESENTATION OF

Byron W. Lewis

THE ENTERING

Executive Director of Enrollment Services and

Dean of Undergraduate Admission ad interim

CHARGE TO THE STUDENTS AND

R. Gerald Turner

ACCEPTANCE OF THE

CONVOCATION REGISTRY

ALMA MATER

STUDENTS

"Varsity"

Oh we see the Varsity,

Varsity, Varsity,

As she towers o'er the hill

Over there.

And our hearts are filled with joy,

SMU, SMU,

Alma Mater, we'll be true

Forever!

BENEDICTION

Craig C. Hill

Dean of Perkins School of Theology

RECESSIONAL

Imperial Brass

OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Pamela D. Anthony, Vice President for Student Affairs

Gary Brubaker, Director of The Guildhall at SMU

Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs

Marc P. Christensen, Dean and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Engineering Innovation of Lyle School of Engineering

Jennifer M. Collins, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law of Dedman School of Law

Thomas DiPiero, Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Gillian M. McCombs, Dean and Director of Central University Libraries

Lisa Montes, President of the SMU Staff Association

Albert W. Niemi, Jr., Dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership of Cox School of Business

James E. Quick, Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies

Harold W. Stanley, Vice President for Executive Affairs

Joanne Vogel, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Student Life

Paul J. Ward, Vice President for Legal Affairs and Government Relations, General Counsel and Secretary

Paige Ware, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development ad interim

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Thomas B. Fomby, Chief Marshal

Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Emeritus

Nathan S. Balke, Procession Marshal

Hon Keung (Tony) Ng, Assisting Procession Marshal

Barbara Hill Moore, Platform Party Marshal

Patricia Harrington Delaney, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals

Heather DeShon, Marshal for Entering Students

Edward J. Fox, Marshal for Entering Students

Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal

Barbara W. Kincaid, Faculty Marshal

Daniel Reynolds, Phi Beta Kappa Marshal

David Sedman, Marshal for Entering Students

Steven B. Vik, Faculty Marshal

Paul Yovanoff, Marshal for Entering Students

Todd Chiscano, Director of Academic Ceremonies



SMU will not discriminate in any program or activity on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, genetic information, veteran status, sexual orientation, or gender identity and expression. The Executive Director for Access and Equity/Title IX Coordinator is designated to handle inquiries regarding nondiscrimination policies and may be reached at the Perkins Administration Building, Room 204, 6425 Boaz Lane, Dallas, TX 75205, 214-768-3601, accessequity@smu.edu. 170123.816