A DISTINGUISHED TRADITION

Welcome to SMU's 101st Opening Convocation. One hundred entering classes before you participated in this ceremony, which marks the beginning of the academic year.

This afternoon, you officially become a part of the SMU community, symbolized by the Rotunda Passage. You passed through Dallas Hall, the University's first and grandest building, guided by alumni who also are parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent a lifetime connection to SMU, a connection you now share. Upon graduation you will engage in Rotunda Recessional, symbolizing the completion of your studies at SMU.

Opening Convocation signifies the start of the academic adventures ahead of you. Today you and your classmates are presented to, and charged by, the University's president to rise to these academic challenges and avail yourself of the many opportunities here at SMU.

OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PLATFORM PARTY

Thomas E. Barry, Vice President for Executive Affairs Gary Keith Brubaker, Director of The Guildhall at SMU David J. Chard, Leon Simmons Dean of Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs Marc P. Christensen, Dean and Bobby B. Lyle Professor of Engineering Innovation of Lyle School of Engineering Jennifer M. Collins, Judge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law of Dedman School of Law Michael A. Condon, University Treasurer Thomas DiPiero, Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Samuel S. Holland, Algur H. Meadows Dean of Meadows School of the Arts Gillian M. McCombs, Dean and Director of Central University Libraries Albert W. Niemi, Jr., Dean and Tolleson Chair in Business Leadership of Cox School of Business Timothy V. Norris, Jr., President of the SMU Staff Association James E. Quick, Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies Joanne Vogel, Vice President for Student Affairs ad interim Paul J. Ward, Vice President for Legal Affairs and Government Relations, General Counsel and Secretary

O P E N I N G CONVOCATION



SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

THE SECOND CENTURY CELEBRATION

The Twenty-third of August Two Thousand and Fifteen at Half Past Five O'Clock McFarlin Memorial Auditorium

| Quarter Past Four O'Clock in the Afternoon Fondren Science Tower | PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER |
|---|---|
| Cchea Nugent, Carillonneur | THE OPENING CONVOCATION AD |
| | |
| | SPECIAL MUSIC |
| | PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING |
| Imperial Brass | Associate Vice Pre |
| Ann Batenburg, Virginia-Snider | CHARGE TO THE ENTERING STUD |
| Martin L. Camp, Crum | |
| | ALMA MATER |
| | Oh we see the Varsity, Varsity, Varsity, |
| Rita Kirk, Armstrong | As she towers o'er the hill |
| Robert Krout, Mary Hay/Peyton/Shuttles | Over there. |
| · · · · | And our hearts are filled with joy, |
| | SMU, SMU, Alma Mater, we'll be true |
| Elizabeth Wheaton, Cockrell-McIntosh | Forever! |
| | BENEDICTION |
| Stephen W. Rankin | |
| · · · | |
| Dean of Student Life aa interim | RECESSIONAL |
| 5 | GUILD OF MARSHALS |
| ost and Vice President for Academic Affairs ad interim | Thomas B. Fomby, Chief Marshal |
| Michael M. Boone '63' '67 | Wayne A. Woodward, Procession Marshal |
| Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees | Hon Keung (Tony) Ng, Assisting Procession |
| Douglas A Reinelt | Steven B. Vik, Assisting Procession Marshal Barbara Hill-Moore, Platform Party Marshal |
| President of the SMU Faculty Senate | · · · |
| Carlton A Adams '16 | Patty Harrington Delaney, Marshal for the A Heather DeShon, Marshal for Entering Stud |
| Student Body President | Edward J. Fox, Marshal for Entering Studen |
| | Kevin Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal |
| "Let the River Run" by Carly Simon | Barbara W. Kincaid, Faculty Marshal |
| | David Sedman, Marshal for Entering Studen |
| * | Steven D. Sverdlik, Phi Beta Kappa Marshal Rick Worland, Faculty Marshal |
| Maria Guenette, Accompanist | Paul Yovanoff, Marshal for Entering Student |
| | Fondren Science Tower Cchea Nugent, Carillonneur Imperial Brass Ann Batenburg, Virginia-Snider Martin L. Camp, Crum Miroslava Detcheva, McElvaney Mark E. Fontenot, Loyd Mark Kerins, Morrison-McGinnis Rita Kirk, Armstrong Robert Krout, Mary Hay/Peyton/Shuttles Will Power, Kathy Crow David Y. Son, Boaz Thomas W. Tunks, Ware Elizabeth Wheaton, Cockrell-McIntosh Stephen W. Rankin Chaplain and Minister to the University and Dean of Student Life <i>ad interim</i> ONS Michael M. Boone '63, '67 Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees Douglas A. Reinelt President for Academic Affairs <i>ad interim</i> "Kichael M. Boone '63, '67 Chair of the SMU Board of Trustees Douglas A. Reinelt President of the SMU Faculty Senate Carlton A. Adams '16 Student Body President "Let the River Run" by Carly Simon Meadows Convocation Chorus tela Elrod Huffman, Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities |

SMU will not discriminate in any program or activity on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age disability, genetic information, veteran status, sexual orientation, or gender identity and expression. The Executive Director for Access and Equity/Title IX Coordinator is designated to handle inquiries regarding nondiscriminatio policies and may be reached at the Perkins Administration Building, Room 204, 6425 Boaz Lane, Dallas, TX 75205 214-768-3601, accessequity@smu.edu. 160340.815

OPENING CONVOCATION ADDRESS

Wes K. Waggoner SENTATION OF THE ENTERING STUDENTS Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management ad interim

RGE TO THE ENTERING STUDENTS

William B. Lawrence Dean of Perkins School of Theology

as B. Fomby, Chief Marshal A. Woodward, Procession Marshal Keung (Tony) Ng, Assisting Procession Marshal B. Vik, Assisting Procession Marshal ra Hill-Moore, Platform Party Marshal

Harrington Delaney, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals er DeShon, Marshal for Entering Students d J. Fox, Marshal for Entering Students Paul Hofeditz, Ceremony Marshal ra W. Kincaid, Faculty Marshal Sedman, Marshal for Entering Students D. Sverdlik, Phi Beta Kappa Marshal Vorland, Faculty Marshal Paul Yovanoff, Marshal for Entering Students

R. Gerald Turner

"Varsity"

Imperial Brass

Harold W. Stanley

R. Gerald Turner President

"SMU Forever" by Jimmy Dunne