



For Immediate Release July 17, 2019

2019 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released today the preseason candidates for the 2019 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

2018 Doak Walker Award recipient Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin) leads the list of preseason candidates. Taylor, the nation's leading rusher last season, rushed for 2,194 yards in his sophomore campaign. Doak Walker Award finalist Travis Etienne (Clemson), who average over eight yards per carry last season, is also featured. Other candidates of note include 2018 Doak Walker Award semifinalists Eno Benjamin (Arizona State), AJ Dillion (Boston College) and J.J. Taylor (Arizona).

University athletic departments nominate candidates for the award and can continue to do so through October. The complete list of candidates is below.

Cam Akers (Jr.), Florida State Darius Anderson (Sr.), TCU Jafar Armstrong (Jr.), Notre Dame LaVante Bellamy (Sr.), Western Michigan Eno Benjamin (Jr.), Arizona State Max Borghi (So.), Washington State Isaiah Bowser (So.), Northwestern Rakeem Boyd (Jr.), Arkansas Darius Bradwell (Sr.), Tulane Shamari Brooks (Jr.), Tulsa Spencer Brown (Jr.), UAB Brittain Brown (Jr.), Duke Cade Carney (Sr.), Wake Forest Michael Carter (Jr.), North Carolina Ty Chandler (Jr.), Tennessee Andrew Clair (Jr.), Bowling Green Jashaun Corbin (So.), Texas A&M Reggie Corbin (Sr.), Illinois AJ Dillon (Jr.), Boston College J.K. Dobbins (Jr), Ohio State Travis Dye (So.), Oregon Travis Etienne (Jr.), Clemson Darrynton Evans (Jr.), Appalachian Dayton Furuta (Sr.), Hawaii

Tre Harbison (Jr.), Northern Illinois Najee Harris (Jr.), Alabama Kylin Hill (Jr.), Mississippi State Jerry Howard, Jr. (Jr.), Georgia Tech Chuba Hubbard (So.), Oklahoma State Mohamed Ibrahim (So.), Minnesota Keaontay Ingram (So.), Texas Deon Jackson (Jr.), Duke Jermar Jefferson (So.), Oregon State Tony Jones, Jr. (Sr.), Notre Dame Lopini Katoa (So.), BYU Joshua Kelley (Sr.), UCLA Bryant Koback (So.), Toledo Benny LeMay (Sr.), Charlotte Vavae Malepeai (Jr.), USC Kam Martin (Sr.), Auburn Jordan Mason (So.), Georgia Tech Greg McCrae (Jr.), UCF Anthony McFarland, Jr. (So.), Maryland Tra Minter (Sr.), South Alabama Elijah Mitchell (Jr.), Louisiana Marcel Murray (So.), Arkansas State Moe Neal (Sr.), Syracuse Jaret Patterson (So.), Buffalo Lamical Perine (Sr.), Florida

Scottie Phillips (Sr.), Ole Miss Trey Ragas (Jr.), Louisiana Ronnie Rivers (Jr.), Fresno State Larry Rountree, III (Jr.), Missouri Mekhi Sargent (Jr), Iowa Cameron Scarlett (Sr.), Stanford Stevie Scott, III (So.), Indiana BJ Smith (Sr.), Troy Rodney Smith (Sr.), Minnesota Kesean Strong (Sr.), Old Dominion D'Andre Swift (Jr.), Georgia Toa Taua (So.), Nevada Corey Taylor, II (Jr.), Tulsa J.J. Taylor (Jr.), Arizona Jonathan Taylor (Jr.), Wisconsin Patrick Taylor (Sr.), Memphis DeAndre Torrey (Jr.), North Texas Breck Turner (Sr.), Eastern Michigan KeShawn Vaughn (Sr.), Vanderbilt CJ Verdell (So.), Oregon Quardraiz Wadley (Sr.), UTEP Michael Warren, II (Jr.), Cincinnati Devwah Whaley (Sr.), Arkansas

2019 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement

Page 2

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced on November 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning December 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2019 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 12 on ESPN.

The award, which will name its 30th recipient in 2019, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

###

Honoring the legends of sports for 30 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 24 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the entire 2019 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 15: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tuesday July 16: Davey O'Brien Award
Wednesday July 17: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 18: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 19: Mackey Award & Rimington Award
Monday July 22: Thorpe Award & Butkus Award
Tuesday July 23: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 24: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 25: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 26: Walter Camp Award

-doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-