



For Immediate Release July 14, 2016

2016 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the preseason candidates for the 2016 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

Juniors Leonard Fournette of LSU and Christian McCaffrey of Stanford headline the 2016 candidate list after both were Doak Walker Award finalists a year ago. Fournette led the NCAA at 162.8 yards per game last year, while McCaffrey was the nation's leader in all-purpose yardage (276.0 YPG). Six of the 11 semifinalists for the 2015 Doak Walker Award appear on the 2016 watch list.

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Josh Adams (So.), Notre Dame Saquon Barkley (So.), Penn State Jamauri Bogan (So.), W. Michigan Joel Bouagnon (Sr.), Northern Illinois Matt Breida (Sr.), Georgia Southern Shannon Brooks (So.), Minnesota Algernon Brown (Sr.), BYU James Butler (Jr.), Nevada Nick Chubb (Jr.), Georgia Jordan Chunn (Jr.), Troy Corey Clement (Sr.), Wisconsin James Conner (Jr.), Pittsburgh Dalvin Cook (Jr.), Florida State Marcus Cox (Sr.), Appalachian State LeShun Daniels, Jr. (Sr.), Iowa Justin Davis (Sr.), USC Matthew Dayes (Sr.), NC State Jela Duncan (Sr.), Duke D'Andre Ferby (So.), W. Kentucky Tarean Folston (Sr.), Notre Dame D'Onta Foreman (Jr.), Texas Leonard Fournette (Jr.), LSU Jarvion Franklin (Jr.), W. Michigan Royce Freeman (Jr.), Oregon Wayne Gallman (Jr.), Clemson Myles Gaskin (So.), Washington

Damien Harris (So.), Alabama Paul Harris (Sr.), Hawaii Kyle Hicks (Jr.), TCU Brian Hill (Jr.), Wyoming Dontrell Hilliard (Jr.), Tulane Brandon Holloway (Sr.), Miss. State Elijah Hood (Jr.), North Carolina Jalen Hurd (Jr.), Tennessee Johnny Jefferson (Jr.), Baylor Aaron Jones (Jr.), UTEP Charles Jones (Sr.), Kansas State Markell Jones (So.), Purdue Ronald Jones II (So.), USC Xavier Jones (So.), SMU Alvin Kamara (Jr.), Tennessee Ray Lawry (Jr.), Old Dominion Phillip Lindsay (So.), Colorado Shock Linwood (Sr.), Baylor Marlon Mack (Jr.), South Florida Devante Mays (Sr.), Utah State Christian McCaffrey (Jr.), Stanford Elijah McGuire (Sr.), UL-Lafayette Sony Michel (Jr.), Georgia Taquan Mizzell (Sr.), Virginia Khalfani Muhammad (Sr.), Cal Terrell Newby (Sr.), Nebraska

Arkeel Newsome (Jr.), Connecticut Jacobi Owens (Sr.), Air Force Samaje Perine (Jr.), Oklahoma Donnel Pumphrey (Sr.), SDSU Devine Redding (Jr.), Indiana Larry Rose III (Jr.), New Mexico State Bo Scarbrough (So.), Alabama De'Veon Smith (Sr.), Michigan Justin Stockton (Jr.), Texas Tech Shaq Vann (So.), Eastern Michigan Ke'Shawn Vaughn (So.), Illinois Anthony Wales (Sr.), W. Kentucky Kody Walker (Sr.), Arkansas Warren Wand (So.), Arkansas State Chris Warren III (So.), Texas Mike Warren (So.), Iowa State Tre Watson (Jr.), Cal Ralph Webb (Jr.), Vanderbilt David Williams (Jr.), South Carolina Jamaal Williams (Sr.), BYU Rawleigh Williams III (So.), Arkansas Stanley Williams (Jr.), Kentucky Nick Wilson (Jr.), Arizona Shaun Wilson (Jr.), Duke Marquis Young (So.), Massachusetts

2016 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement

Page 2

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists on November 16, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the three finalists, who will be announced on November 22. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 28 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2016 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 8, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas in early 2017.

The award, which will name its 27th recipient in 2016, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 27 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 22 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates. The Walter Camp Award and Paul Hornung Award will release the final NCFAA 2016 preseason watch lists on July 15.

-doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-