Give Now

Office of National Fellowships and Awards

SMU's Office of National Fellowships helps SMU students and faculty to apply for external, nationally-competitive fellowships, scholarships and awards such as the Rhodes, Marshall, Fulbright, Mitchell, Truman, Goldwater, Udall, Guggenheim, and many others. If you wish to be a candidate, review carefully the additional links on this page. After reviewing programs and criteria, if you feel there is a fit, contact us to investigate applying.


Nobel Prize Laureate: James Cronin, Physics
Truman Scholar: Rahfin Faruk, Public Policy
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship: Matt Rispoli, Physics
NSF REU undergraduate research: Nicole Hartman, Physics; Meaghan Shaw, Earth Sciences
DAAD RISE summer research, Germany: Danh Nguyen, Biological Science
Rhodes Scholar Finalist: Rahfin Faruk, Public Policy
Marshall Scholar Finalists: Rahfin Faruk, Sara Kendrick
Fulbright Grant to U.K: SaraKendrick, Engineering
Fulbright Grant to Italy: Michaela Wallerstedt, Anthropology
Fulbright Grant to the Netherlands: Kandi Doming, Art History
Fulbright Grant to Honduras: Whitney Goodwin, Anthropology
Fulbright Teacher Grant to New Zealand: Elizabeth Pittman, Education
Fulbright ETA: Corinne Matthews, Poland; Han Na Kim, South Korea
Goldwater Scholar: Nicole Hartman, Physics
Goldwater, Honorable Mention:Collette Marchesseault, Biological Science
National Geographic Young Explorer Grant: Dawn Crawford, Anthropology
Udall Scholar, Honorable Mention: E. Jewel Lipps
Gilman Scholar: Carmen Maciel, France; Manuel Rangel, Spain
Fulbright-Hays Dissertation Grant: Kerri Brown, Anthropology
French Government Teaching Assistantship: Eva Pollitt, Theater
Austrian Government Teaching Assistantship: Brett Fox, World Languages
PEO International Fellowship: Courtney Follitt, Biological Science

Congratulate our recent student successes


Elected toAmerican Academy of Arts and Sciences: Charles Curran; David Meltzer
Elected to National Academy of Sciences: David Meltzer
Elected to National Academy of Engineering: Delores Etter; Fred Chang
Elected to American Association for the Advancement of Science: James Quick; David Meltzer; Delores Etter; Brian Stump; Steven Currall
Elected to PRSA College of Fellows: Sandra Duhe, Meadows
NSF Early CAREER Award: Nicolay Tsarevsky, Chemistry
NEH Fellowship: Tim Cassedy, English; Alexis McCrossen, History
Fulbright Scholars: Chris Jenks, Law, Australia; Blake Hackler, Theater, Bulgaria
ACLS Fellowships: Jill Kelly, History; Lisa Siraganian, English
Charles Ives Fellowship, Am. Acad. Arts & Letters: Xi Wang, Music
Mellon Foundation New Directions Fellowship: Lisa Siraganian, English
NEH Summer Stipend: Tim Cassedy, English
Stanford CASBS Fellow: Johan Elverskog, Religious Studies
Premio Cappellini: James Quick

Sam Taylor Fellowships

Karisa Cloward, Political Science
Eunjin Kim, Advertising
Stephanie Langin-Hooper, Art History
Karen Lupo, Anthropology
Jamal Mohamed,Music
Herve Tchumkam, World Languages (French)
Roberto Vega, Physics

For questions about this site please contact the webmaster