Give Now

Southwest Review



                   Deadline for entry into the
               2017 Meyerson Prize for Fiction
                               is May 1st                      

                                                      Click here to see the rules and enter.



                          Announcing the
     Alfred & Jeanne Butler Prize for Nonfiction:

          The Alfred & Jeanne Butler Prize was established by their son Bruce to honor his parents, who
        enjoyed all forms of literature and loved to collect, read, and share many texts and tomes with those
          around them. The award consists of a $1,000 cash prize and publication in Southwest Review.

                     Check back soon for
                      contest guidelines.



Begun in 1915 and located on the campus of Southern Methodist University, Southwest Review is the third oldest, continuously published literary quarterly in the United States. Selections from Southwest Review have been reprinted in volumes of The O. Henry Prize Stories, The Pushcart Prize, The Best American Short Stories, The Best American Essays, The Best American Poetry, New Stories from the South, and elsewhere.



 "The Southwest Review, under Willard Spiegelman's enlightened editorship, is one of our most urbane and broad-ranging literary journals. It keeps a great tradition alive and in so doing makes a distinguished, invaluable, indeed necessary contribution to the ongoing life of our culture." - Jonathan Galassi