Transitions Conference Agenda


7:30 a.m.

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:30 a.m. Plenary Presentation
            Senator Florence Shapiro
            Karen Rue - Superintendent of Northwest ISD
            Jeff Turner - Superintendent of Coppell ISD
9:45 a.m. Breakout Sessions "The Beginning of the Journey through the Pipeline"

Session 1 - "Transition Models: Preventing the Leaks in the Pipeline"
           Yasmin Bhatia - CEO of Uplift Education
           Kyle Richardson - Principal, Woodrow Wilson High School, Dallas ISD
           Kathy Scherler - Program Development Specialist, Woodrow Wilson High School, Dallas ISD
           Claudia Morrell - Chief Operations Officer, NAPE (National Alliance for Partnerships in
Session 2 - "Not your Mama's Vocational Education: Career Technical Education"
           Wes Cunningham - CTE Director and Principal of Frisco ISD
           Janet McDade - Principal, Ben Barber Career Technology Academy, Mansfield ISD
           Jan Bray - Executive Director, Association of Career Technical Education

Session 3 - "What about Students with Disabilities"
           Yvonne Davis - Program Specialist for Transition Services, Richardson ISD
           Alexa Taylor - Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center, SMU
           Jim Leonard - Pepsico
11:15 a.m. Breakout Sessions " Moving through the Pipeline to Post-Secondary Education"

Session 1 - "The Community College Role in Plugging the Leaks"
           Ann Beheler  - Executive Director of Emerging Technology and Grants,
                                        Collin County Community College
           Mary Brumbach - Executive Director of Strategic Funding,
                                             Collin County Community College
           Chris Darville - Adjunct Professor,
                                         Department of Education Policy and Leadership, SMU
Session 2 - "A Stronger Nation and College Completion Issues"
           Alison Griffin - Principal, Miles above Strategies
           Michael McLendon - Associate Dean,
                                         Simmons School of Education & Human Development, SMU
           Raymund Paredes - Commissioner, Higher Education Coordinating Board

Session 3 - "Bridges from Post-Secondary to Pre-K-12"
           Tammy Richards - CEO, Big Brothers Big Sisters Lone Star,
                                        Former Associate Dean of Operations, Finance, Enrollment,
                                        Marketing and Communications, Lyle School of Engineering, SMU
           Nikki Hanegan - STEM Education Researcher/Former Director, Center for STEM Education
                                      and Research, The University of Texas at Dallas
           Adriana Gomez - Middle School Math Program, Dallas County Community College District
12:30 p.m. Plated Lunch
1:15 p.m. Breakout Sessions " Moving through the Pipeline to Post-Secondary Education"

Session 1 - "The Workforce Voice"
           Ken Fenoglio  - Vice President, AT&T University
           Andrea Glispie - Senior Regional Field Director, Central National Skills Coalition
           Laurie Larrea - President, Workforce Solutions, Greater Dallas
Session 2 - "Investing in a Stronger Pipeline: Foundations and Non-Profits"
           Dee Chambliss - Program Officer, Educate Texas, Communities Foundations of Texas 
           Todd Williams - Executive Director, Commit! Dallas
           Adrianna Cuellar Rojas - Senior Program Specialist, Meadows Foundation

Session 3 - "Creating a Village"
           Regina Nippert - Director, Center for Communities and Education, SMU
           Cindy Floyd - Existing Business/Workforce Development Director, Longview Economic
                                 Development Corporation
           Kelly Kinsey - Youth Career Development Director, Longview Economic Development Corporation
           Michael McFarland - Superintendent, Lancaster ISD
3:00 p.m. Final Session "A Call to Action"
            The Honorable Mike Rawlings - Mayor, City of Dallas
            Ann Smisko - Chief Academic Officer, Dallas ISD
            Ann Pomykal - Director of the Texas Instruments Foundation
            Carl Sewell - Sewell Automotive Companies
4:00 p.m. Adjournment

For More Information