Young Leaders in Education

Young Leaders in Education

Organization's Mission

The Young Leaders in Education (YLE) is an education, service and advocacy organization through SMU’s Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development. Our mission is to empower leaders of any age to improve the Dallas educational community by using their time and talents through service, fundraising, and recognition.

Become Involved in YLE


Membership Roster

Chairman Greg Weatherford II (Educational Pathways)
Adam Clawson (Brookhaven College)
Albert Tezeno (Collin College)
Ben Jameson (Little Elm ISD)
Candy Arce (AUME Motion Arts)
Courtney Brazile (Eastfield College)
David Field (Edward Jones)
Kate Losecco (Texas Health Resources)
Karin Morris (Texas Rangers)
Katrina Austria Marrero (Uplift Education)
Mary O’Connor (The WNBA Dallas Wings)
Matthew Gutierrez (Plano ISD)
Melissa Reddick (FC Dallas)
Paul Polanco (SMU)
Racquel McBay (All-Stars Project of Dallas)
Steve Stich (U.S. Trust)
Whitney Brandon Faulkner (Dallas Cowboys)


Trailblazer Honorees

2016: Peter Brodsky
2015: Nakia Douglas
2014: Garret Boone

 YLE Spring Awards Ceremony

Upcoming Spring Events

 March 20, 2017: Board Membership Applications Open
 March 20, 2017: Service Project Applications Open
 TBD: Trailblazer Award Ceremony

YLE Service Projects

Each year, YLE supports community organizations and educational institutions through service project engagement. Please check back in March 2017 for the 2017 – 2018 Project Application and Submission Guidelines.