Students

MilVets

ArmyMarinesNavyCoastGuardAir Force

The Military Veterans of SMU is a student organization.  For more information about the group visit their Facebook page.

For veteran benefits information click here.

Officers:

President - Hannah Wood // hgwood@smu.edu
Vice President - Adam Locklear // alocklear@smu.edu
Secretary - Travis Covert // covert@smu.edu
Treasurer - Zach Fager // zfager@smu.edu
Sergeant at Arms - Jayson Briggs // jbriggs@smu.edu

Advisors:

Faculty Advisor - Dr. Rita Kirk // rkirk@smu.edu
General Advisor - Dr. Deanie Kepler // gkepler@smu.edu
Financial Aid Office - Gordan Brannon // gbrannon@smu.edu
Registrar's Office - Veronica Decena // vdecena@smu.edu and Mitzie Goff // mgoff@smu.edu
Office of Transfers & Transition Services - // Nancy Skochdopole nskoch@smu.edu

About the MilVets:

The U.S. Military Veterans of SMU started in the Fall semester of 2011 by a group of student veterans interested in establishing an organization on campus exclusively catering to the unique needs and experiences of SMU's emergent student veteran community. Veterans returning from active service face not only the challenges of returning to civilian life, but the pressures of an academic transition when attempting to pursue a college degree.

U.S. Military Veterans of SMU was formed to provide an outlet for students with military experience to socialize and interact with other veterans outside of the classroom. In addition to providing a social outlet for returning veterans, the organization serves as a resource to any students experiencing difficulty with the transition back to civilian/campus life, can advise on issues concerning veterans benefits or the GI Bill, and acts as a service organization. There are nearly 150 undergraduate and graduate students attending SMU on the Post 9-11 G.I. Bill, which provides education benefits to military veterans and their dependents.
The group represents service-members from all five active military service branches: Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast Guard. U.S. Military Veterans of SMU hosts a tent during SMU Boulevard to encourage interest in the organization and to publicize their presence on campus. Past service projects include collecting donations as care packages for troops currently serving overseas in combat. While still in its first semester at SMU, U.S. Military Veterans of SMU has already received a welcome response by the SMU community and looks forward to giving back as they continue to advocate the needs of the SMU student veteran.

Mission of the MilVets:

The U.S. Military Veterans of SMU employ a three-part mission. First and foremost, we are a fellowship organization for transitioning SMU veterans. Secondly, we act as a service organization with an emphasis on charity in the Dallas area. Finally, our group serves as a resource for struggling veterans on issues ranging from the G.I. Bill to PTSD.

Facebook The Military Veterans of SMU is a student organization.  For more information about the group visit their Facebook page.

www.smu.edu
© Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas | Legal Disclosures | A-Z Site Index | Contact SMU