Other Ways to Engage

Other Ways to Engage

Student engagement beyond the classroom happens all over campus. Fifty SMU programs offer research, community service, civic engagement, internships and other creative, entrepreneurial opportunities.

Who's it for?

for undergraduate and graduate students of all majors

Undergraduates who participate in a student engagement program that meets the requirements of an Engaged Learning Fellowship can earn ELF recognition by completing the ELF application and submitting it for approval.

To learn more about other ways to engage, click on the program link below.

NEWS FLASH!  Participation in the highlighted programs below automatically counts as ELF. LEARN MORE

Program

Office

Faculty/Staff Contact

1

Alternative Breaks

Community Engagement and Leadership

Stephanie Howeth,showeth@smu.edu

2

Arts Entrepreneurship

Meadows School of the Arts

James Hart,jdhart@smu.edu

3

Big iDeas Pitch Contest*

Engaged Learning

Susan Kress,skress@smu.edu

4

Big iDeas Business Plan Competition*

Engaged Learning

Susan Kress,skress@smu.edu

5

Budd Center Service

Simmons School of Education

Miya King,miyaking@smu.edu

6

Carole and Jim Young Fellows

Lyle School of Engineering

Heather Hankamer,cmpearson@smu.edu

7

Caruth Center for Entrepreneurship

The Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship

Simon Mak,smak@smu.edu

8

Caswell Undergraduate Leadership Fellowship*

Community Engagement & Leadership

Stephanie Howeth,showeth@smu.edu

9

Clinton Global Initiative University Network*

Engaged Learning

Mona Alluri,malluri@smu.edu

10

Cox Internships*

Cox School of Business

Lisa Tran,ltran@smu.edu

11

Departmental Distinction

Department of Political Science

plsc@smu.edu

12

Engaged Learning Fellowship*

Engaged Learning

Mona Alluri,malluri@smu.edu

13

Engineers Without Borders

Lyle School of Engineering

Dr. Andrew Quicksall,aquicksall@smu.edu

14

Faith and Learning Scholars*

Office of the Chaplain & Religious Life

Tyler Kim,cfi@smu.edu

15

George W. Bush Museum and LibraryInternships

George W. Bush Presidential Library & Museum

bush43Volunteer@nara.gov

16

George W. Bush Institute Internships

George W. Bush Presidential Center

bush43volunteer@nara.gov

17

Global Health Internships

Center for Global Health Impact

Dr. Eric Bing,ebing@smu.edu

18

HamiltonUndergraduate ResearchScholars*

Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Dr. Caroline Brettell,cbrettel@smu.edu

19

Hart Center Co-ops*

Hart Center for Engineering Leadership

Linda Parker,lcparker@lyle.smu.edu

20

Hart Center Engineering in the City

Hart Center for Engineering Leadership

Kathy Hubbard,khubbard@smu.edu

21

Hart Center Internships*

Hart Center for Engineering Leadership

Linda Parker,lcparker@lyle.smu.edu

22

Hegi Internships*

Hegi Career Development Center

Alicia Love,atlove@smu.edu

23

Hilltop Scholars Program

Office of the University Curriculum

Dr. Marta Krogh,mkrogh@smu.edu

24

Hunt Scholars Program

Hunt Leadership Scholars Program

Corrie Harris,caharris@smu.edu

25

Hunt Institute for Engineering and Humanity

Hunt Institute for Engineering & Humanity

Lindsay Davis,lrdavis@smu.edu

26  Ignite Arts Dallas   Meadows School of the Arts  Clyde Valentine,cvalentin@mail.smu.edu 

27

Innovation Gym Innovation Competition*

The Deason Innovation Gymnasium

Katie Krummeck,kkrummeck@smu.edu

28

Maguire Center Public Service Fellowships*

Maguire Center

Adria Richmond,arichmond@smu.edu

29

Marr Research Scholars*

Institute for the Study of Earth and Man

Dr. Louis Jacobs,jacobs@smu.edu

30

Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows*

Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Caroline Brettell,cbrettel@smu.edu

31

McNair Scholars*

Simmons School of Education

Jacqueline Lowrey,jlowrey@smu.edu

32

Meadows Exploration Award*

Meadows School of the Arts

Clyde Valentine,cvalentin@mail.smu.edu

33

Meadows F.A.C.E Program

Meadows School of the Arts

Melissa Murray,mmmurray@mail.smu.edu

34

Meadows World Music Ensemble

Meadows School of the Arts

Jamal Mohammed,jmohmed@mail.smu.edu

35

Mock Trial and Debate Team

Meadows School of the Arts

Dr. Chris Salinas,cdsalinas@smu.edu

36

Mustang Heroes

Community Engagement and Leadership

Stephanie Howeth,showeth@smu.edu

37

Norwick Center for Digital Services Internships

Norwick Center for Digital Services

ncds@smu.edu

38

Outdoor Adventures

Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports

Albert Mitugo, amitugo@smu.edu

39

Pre-Health Advising

University Advising Center

Pamela A. McNulty,pmcnulty@smu.edu

40

President's Scholars Program

President's Scholars Program

Martha Starke,mstarke@smu.edu

41

Richter Fellowships*

University Honors Program

Dr. David Doyle,ddoyle@smu.edu

42

SMU Service House

Community Engagement & Leadership

Micah Johnson,micahj@smu.edu

43

SMU Abroad

International Student & Scholar Services

Dr. Cathy Winnie,cwinnie@smu.edu

44

SMU-In-Taos

SMU-In-Taos

Jordan Lee,jolee@smu.edu

45

Student Leadership Initiative*

Embrey Human Rights Program

Dr. Brad Klein,kleinb@smu.edu

46  Student Reading Groups   O'Neil Center for Global Markets  Daniel Serralde,dserralde@smu.edu  

47

Summer Research Assistantships

Engaged Learning, Undergraduate Research

Farley Ferrante,fferrante@smu.edu

48

TEDxSMU

 

Lyle School of Engineering

Heather Hankamer,

hhankamer@lyle.smu.edu

49

Tower Scholars Program

Tower Center for Political Studies

Katherine Bliss,kbliss@smu.edu

50   Undergraduate Research Assistantships* Engaged Learning, Undergraduate Research  Farley Ferrante,fferrante@smu.edu 

 

*denotes funding available