Give Now

Workshops

Learning Strategies Workshop Schedule


Spring 2016


Each workshop lasts an hour, including self-assessment, instruction, and take-home information to help put new techniques to work. Drop in for one or all sessions -- no reservations required. 

 

FUNDAMENTALS

 
TIME MANAGEMENT
Thursday Jan 21
4 PM
Lynda.com: YOUR 24/7 TUTOR
Monday Jan 25
4:15 PM
TIME MANAGEMENT
Tuesday Jan 26
4:15 PM
TIME MANAGEMENT
Wednesday Jan 27
5 PM
TRANSFER STUDENTS: YOUR TRANSITION TO SMU
Thursday Jan 28
12:30 PM
TRANSFER STUDENT: YOUR TRANSITION TO SMU
Thursday Jan 28
5 PM
TIME MANAGEMENT
Monday Feb 1
3 PM
NOTE-TAKING AND TEXTBOOK READING
Tuesday Feb 2
4:15 PM
TIME MANAGEMENT AND ORGANIZATION
Wednesday Feb 3
5 PM
NOTE-TAKING AND TEXTBOOK READING
Thursday Feb 4
4:15 PM
 

TESTS


PREPARING FOR ESSAY & MULTIPLE CHOICE TESTS
Monday Feb 8
4:15 PM
PREPARING FOR ESSAY & MULTIPLE CHOICE TESTS
Tuesday Feb 9
4:15 PM
Lynda.com: YOUR 24/7 TUTOR Wednesday Feb 10
4:15 PM
MANAGING TEST ANXIETY Thursday Feb 11
4 PM
 

RESEARCH & EXCEL

 
RESEARCH AND RESEARCH PAPERS
Tuesday Feb 16
5 PM
INTRO TO EXCEL
Wednesday Feb 17
4 PM
EXCEL FORMULAS AND FUNCTIONS
Thursday Feb 25
4 PM
 

FUNDAMENTALS

 
TIME MANAGEMENT
Monday Mar 21
4:15 PM
NOTE-TAKING AND TEXTBOOK READING
Tuesday Mar 22
4:15 PM
 

DAMAGE CONTROL

 
GPA 101: SMU SURVIVAL SKILLS
Monday Mar 28
4:15 PM
RESEARCH AND RESEARCH PAPERS
Wednesday Mar 30
4:15 PM
 

FINISH STRONG

 
PLAN A SUCCESSFUL FINISH: The Last Month
     Attend any ONE of these sessions.
     Bring your calendar and all syllabi.
Monday Apr 4
4 PM
Tuesday Apr 5
4 PM
Wednesday Apr 6
5 PM 
Thursday Apr 7
5 PM

 

 

LOCATION: 202 Loyd Center 



SPRING BREAK IS MARCH 7 THROUGH MARCH 11.

THE LAST CLASS DAY IS MONDAY, MAY 2.

READING DAY IS TUESDAY, MAY 3.

FINAL EXAMS ARE WEDNESDAY, MAY 4 THROUGH TUESDAY, MAY 10.

 

 

Schedule an appointment with learning specialists LaTina Jackson or Becca Umobong to go over any study skills individually by going to https://roomres.smu.edu and selecting Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center.