Give Now

Workshops

Learning Strategies Workshop Schedule


Fall 2017

Each workshop lasts an hour (unless otherwise noted), including self-assessment, instruction, and take-home information to help put new techniques to work.

Drop in for one or all sessions -- no reservations required.

Workshop Day Time
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Monday, August 21 5:00 PM
Time Management Tuesday, August 22 5:00 PM
Time Management Wednesday, August 23 4:15 PM
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Thursday, August 24 1:00 & 4:00 PM
Time Management Sunday, August 27 5:00 PM
Time Management Monday, August 28 4:15 PM
Lynda.com: Your 24/7 Tutor Tuesday, August 29 4:00 PM (30 minutes)
Note-Taking & Organization Tuesday, August 29 4:30 PM
Time Management Wednesday, August 30 5:00 PM
International Students: Your Transition to SMU Thursday, August 31 4:00 PM
Note-Taking & Organization Wednesday, September 6 4:15 PM
Time Management Thursday, September 7 4:00 PM
Interdependence & Emotional Intelligence Monday, September 11 4:00 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Tuesday, September 12 5:00 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Wednesday, September 13 4:15 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Thursday, September 14 4:00 PM
Concentration & Textbook Reading Monday, September 18 4:00 PM
Note-Taking & Organization Tuesday, September 19 4:00 PM
Memory Techniques Wednesday, September 20 4:15 PM
Intro to Excel (bring laptop) Tuesday, September 26 4:00 PM
Study Groups: Maximize your Learning Wednesday, September 27 5:00 PM
Memory Techniques Thursday, September 28 4:00 PM
Excel Formulas (bring laptop) Monday, October 2 4:15 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Monday, October 16 4:15 PM
Concentration & Textbook Reading Tuesday, October 17 5:00 PM
Research & Research Papers Wednesday, October 18 5:00 PM
Motivation Thursday, October 19 4:00 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Monday, October 23 4:00 PM
Test Prep: Essay and Multiple Choice Tuesday, October 24 4:00 PM
Excel Pivot Tables & Charts (bring laptop) Wednesday, October 25 4:15 PM
GPA 101: SMU Survival Skills Thursday, October 26 4:15 PM
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Monday, October 30 5:00 PM



Workshops for Finishing the Semester Strong- Choose ONE and bring your calendar and all syllabi!
Plan a Successful Finish: The Last Month Tuesday, November 7 5:00 PM
Wednesday, November 8 4:15 PM
Monday, November 13 4:15 PM
Thursday, November 16 4:00 PM
Prepare for Finals: The Last Week Tuesday, November 28 4:00 PM
Wednesday, November 29 5:00 PM
   

Missed a workshop?
Request an appointment with LaTina Jackson or Becca Umbong by visiting http://roomres.smu.edu.