Higher Learning. Real Experience. Vital Ministry.

Statement of Accreditation

Perkins School of Theology is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada, and the following degree programs are approved: Master of Divinity, Master of Church Ministries, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Doctor of Ministry.

The Houston-Galveston Extension Program (Houston, TX) is approved as a site for more than 50 percent of a degree program but not complete degrees.  

The Commission contact information is:
The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada
10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275 USA
Telephone: 412-788-6505 Fax: 412-788-6510
Website: www.ats.edu


Southern Methodist University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award Bachelor’s, Master’s, professional and doctoral degrees.

Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Southern Methodist University. Note: The commission is to be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution’s significant noncompliance with a requirement or standard.


Perkins School of Theology is approved by the University Senate of The United Methodist Church for continued listing as an academic institution affiliated with the denomination. This official affiliation means that the University Senate has determined that Perkins School of Theology meets criteria established by the church for formal approval. These criteria, described in The Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church, include institutional integrity, well-structured programs, sound management, and clearly defined Church relationships. The approval of Perkins for continued listing was renewed in 2012 for a term of ten years.