Music

Apply Now MSA Visit

Music Faculty By Instrument/Discipline

Meadows faculty members are nationally and internationally recognized for their accomplishments as artists, performers, composers, scholars and educators. They combine strong academic credentials with extensive professional and artistic experience.

Click on the arrows at the top of the columns to sort by name, instrument/discipline, title or email, or, just enter the word you are looking for in the Search box.

Name Instrument/Discipline Title Email
Achucarro, Joaquin Piano Professor of Piano, Joel Estes Tate Chair jachucar@smu.edu
Adkins, Christopher Cello Adjunct Associate Professor of Cello tygaar@sbcglobal.net
Allen, Sarah Music Education Associate Professor of Music Education sarahallen@smu.edu
Anthony, Ryan Trumpet Adjunct Associate Professor of Trumpet ryantrumpet@aol.com
Baron, Deborah Piccolo Adjunct Assistant Professor of Flute dlbaron23@aol.com
Bax, Alessio Piano Adjunct Assistant Professor, Piano alessiobax@gmail.com
Booth, Tom Trumpet Lecturer of Trumpet, Chair of Brass, Winds and Percussion tbooth@smu.edu
Borok, Emanuel Violin Chair of Strings, Distinguished Artist-in-Residence, Violin eborok@swbell.net
Brink, Ann Marie Viola   ahbrink@smu.edu
Bryant, John Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Drum Set and Analysis of Music Production; Interim Director of the Meadows Jazz Orchestra jbryant@smu.edu
Cherry, Kalman Percussion Adjunct Associate Professor, Timpani  
Chung, Lucille Piano Adjunct Lecturer, Piano lucillechung@gmail.com
Corbet, Kim Jazz Adjunct Assistant Professor, Jazz/Rock History/Interdisciplinary Studies kimcorbet@gmail.com
Delaney, Jack Meadows Wind Ensemble Director of Bands and Professor of Music delaney@smu.edu
Diaz, Andres Cello Professor of Cello adiaz@smu.edu
Dietert, Dale Voice Senior Lecturer in Voice ddietert@smu.edu
Dupuy, Virginia Voice Professor, Voice vdupuy@smu.edu
Engels, Stefan Organ Leah Young Fullinwider Endowed Centennial Chair in Music Performance sengels@smu.edu
Elrod Huffman, Pamela Choral Director Associate Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities pelrod@smu.edu
Fabian, Donald Saxophone Adjunct Associate Professor of Saxophone dfabian@smu.edu
Feezell, Mark Music Theory and Composition Senior Lecturer in Music Theory and Composition mfeezell@smu.edu
Forbis, Clifton Voice Associate Professor and Chair of Voice hforbis@smu.edu
Frank, Robert Music Composition Coordinator of Composition Studies, Associate Professor of Composition and Theory robfrank@smu.edu
Garner, Paul Clarinet Adjunct Associate Professor of Clarinet garner@smu.edu
Georgievskaya, Liudmila Piano Adjunct Lecturer in Piano and Coordinator of Accompanying lgeorgievs@smu.edu
Good, Matthew Tuba/Euphonium Adjunct Associate Professor of Tuba mgood@smu.edu
Gunter, Kevin Class Piano and Piano Preparatory Department Lecturer kgunter@smu.edu
Guthrie, Robert Guitar Adjunct Professor of Guitar rguthrie@smu.edu
Hammett, Hank Opera Director Director of Opera, Senior Lecturer, Chair of Ensemble Department chammett@smu.edu
Hanlon, Kevin Music Composition Associate Professor-Composition Theory khanlon@smu.edu
Hannigan, Erin Oboe Adjunct Associate Professor of Oboe Dallasoboe@att.net
Harder, Lane Music Theory and Composition Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Theory and Composition lharder@mail.smu.edu
Holland, Sam Piano and Piano Pedagogy Algur H. Meadows Dean and Professor of Music sholland@smu.edu
Hoops, Haley French Horn Adjunct Lecturer of Horn hshoops@gmail.com
Horne, Derrick Theory, Commercial Music and Production Professor of Practice in Music dhorne@mail.smu.edu
Howard, Doug Percussion Adjunct Professor of Percussion douglas@smu.edu
Hustis, Gregory French Horn Adjunct Professor of Horn gjhustis@att.net
Jackson, Lynne Music Education Adjunct Assistant Professor in Music Education lynjck@aol.com
Karp, David Piano Professor of Piano, Co-chair of Keyboard Dept. dkarp@smu.edu
King, Camille Voice Adjunct Assistant Professor of Voice camillek@smu.edu
Kirkendoll Welch, Kara Flute Adjunct Assistant Professor, Flute welch@smu.edu
Kitzman, Diane Violin Adjunct Associate Professor, Violin Kitzman.diane@yahoo.com
Kitzman, John Trombone Adjunct Professor, Trombone jktrb@swbell.net
Kupfer, Peter Music History Assistant Professor of Music History pkupfer@smu.edu
Lang, Drew Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Marimba dlang@smu.edu
Larson Garver, Jean Flute Adjunct Associate Professor, Flute jeangarver@sbcglobal.net
Lederer, Thomas Double Bass Adjunct Associate Professor-Double Bass tlederer@smu.edu
Lee, Jon Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Director of Percussion Ensemble jonl@smu.edu
Leone, Carol Piano Chair of Piano Studies, Professor of Piano cleone@smu.edu
Lindstrom, Janice Music Therapy Clinical Coordinator for Music Therapy jlindstrom@smu.edu
Lively, Michael Music Theory and Composition Visiting Assistant Professor, Music Theory and Composition mtlively@smu.edu
Lysinger, Catharine Piano and Piano Preparatory Department Senior Lecturer, Piano Pedagogy and Piano, Artistic Director, Piano Preparatory Department lysinger@smu.edu
Mancini, David Music Theory Interim Chair, Associate Professor of Music Theory, Director of Graduate Studies, Chair of Theory and Composition dmancini@smu.edu
Matthews, David English Horn Adjunct Assistant Professor, English Horn davidmatthews7@gmail.com
Merrill, Brian Music Education Adjunct Associate Professor of Music Education merrill@smu.edu
Mohamed, Jamal Percussion Lecturer, Director of the Meadows World Music Ensemble, Instructor- Percussion Ensemble, Hand Drumming and Ethnic Percussion jmohmed@smu.edu
Moore, Barbara Hill Voice Professor of Voice bhmoore@smu.edu
Mouledous, Alfred Piano Professor of Piano  
Murray, Melissa Murchison Music Theory Lecturer, Music Theory and Associate Director of Music Recruitment mmmurray@smu.edu
Nakamura, Naoko Harp Adjunct Assistant Professor of Harp nnakamura@smu.edu
Perkins, Deborah Music Education Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music Education, Director of Mustang Strings dperkins@smu.edu
Perry, Brian Double Bass Adjunct Assistant Professor, Double Bass bnperry@smu.edu
Phillips, Paul Meadows Symphony Orchestra Professor of Music, Martha Raley Peak Endowed Centennial Chair, and Director of Orchestral Activities paulp@smu.edu
Raden, Gregory Clarinet Adjunct Associate Professor of Clarinet  
Richman, James Harpsichord Adjunct Lecturer, Harpsichord jrichman@smu.edu
Roberts, Wilfred Bassoon Adjunct Professor, Bassoon  
Rose, Ellen Viola Adjunct Associate Professor, Viola erose@smu.edu
Scott, Julie Music Education Associate Professor of Practice in Music Education scottj@smu.edu
Smith, Dylan Meadows Jazz Orchestra Assistant Director for Student Affairs; Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director, Meadows Jazz Orchestra dylans@smu.edu
Smith, Ed Percussion Adjunct Lecturer, Vibraphone esmith@smu.edu
Smith, Jason Vocal Coach Lecturer and Vocal Coach jasonsmith@smu.edu
Sudweeks, Barbara Viola Adjunct Associate Professor, Viola linxinmeng@sbcglobal.net
Tunks, Thomas W. Music Education Professor, Music Education ttunks@mail.smu.edu
Wallmark, Zachary Music History Assistant Professor of Music History zwallmark@smu.edu
Wnuk, PaweĊ‚ Bassoon Professor of Practice in Bassoon and Instrumental Music pwnuk@smu.edu
Xi, Wang Music Associate Professor of Music Composition and Theory WangXi@smu.edu

Areas of Study

Advertising

Art

Art History

Arts Management and Arts Entrepreneurship

Corporate Communication and Public Affairs

Creative Computation

Dance

Film and Media Arts

Journalism

Music

About the Division of Music

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies

Classes (See Catalog)

Departments

Ensembles

Facilities

Faculty and Staff

By Instrument/Discipline

Student Resources

Student Internships & Collaborations

MuSci Lab

Meadows Artist Bridge

Dallas Resources

Peak Fellowship Ensemble-in-Residence

SMU Meadows Licensed Music Rights

Workshops and Special Programs

Opportunities for Non-Music Majors

Theatre