Areas of Study

Twtr Fb Yt Li Pi


Meadows School of the Arts Journalism graduates hold positions as reporters, editors, directors and top executives in the major media companies in Texas and the United States including CBS News, NBC News, Fox News, CNN, The Dallas Morning NewsThe Houston Chronicle and ESPN. SMU alumni are particularly successful in gaining first jobs in the top media companies in Texas and the Southwest.

Opportunity Awaits

Recent SMU Journalism graduates agree: At SMU, there's an "opp" for any media career you want to pursue. In this video, compiled in May 2010, 20 of our young alumni share how the skills they learned and honed on the Hilltop helped them land jobs from CNN in Atlanta to The Dallas Morning News to NBC News in Washington, D.C.

This is SMU Journalism alum Garrett Haake. He's a campaign embed reporter for NBC News covering Mitt Romney. This shot was taken of Mitt Romney for NYT coverage of the South Carolina campaign, and just happened to catch Garrett in the background.

Other SMU Journalism alums:

Name  Year graduated Title Company
Alan Rose 2010 Multimedia Content Producer Ballpark Entertainment - Texas Rangers
Alissa Reitmeier 2009 Reporter WINK News
Allison Prenger 2010 Editor  The Fashion Pundit
Amanda Paschal 2004 1st grade teacher Carrollton Farmers Branch ISD, Charlie McKamy Elementary
Andrea Grymes 2006 Reporter News 12 The Bronx & News 12 Brooklyn
Ann Wyatt Little 2008 Reporter KTBC
Austin Kilgore 2006 Managing editor of Mortgage Technology magazine and a regular contributor to National Mortgage News, American Banker and other SourceMedia publications SourceMedia
Ben Briscoe 2009 Reporter KRVN Reno
Bettina Boateng 2003 Morning/ Fill-in weathercaster WVTM Alabama13 NBC
Blair Bernier 2009 Producer KDFW Fox 4
Brittany Edwards 2004 Freelance writer Daily Candy, The Dallas Flea, contributor to the Dallas Morning News
Brooks Powell 2011 Staff Writer Texas Lawbook
Brooks Thomas 2006 Emerging Media Coordinator  Southwest Airlines
Caitlin Jane Myers 2009 Cause Branding team member The Richards Group
Casey Ferrand 2007 PR Editor of NewsFix CW 39
Casey Gibeaut 2009 Social Media Coordinator Siltanen & Partners Advertising
Cecilia Lai 2005 Owner/Lawyer Cecilia Lai Law
Charlotte Huffman 2007 Reporter NBC-17 , WNCN
Chase Haynes 2007 Producer 5 on Fox
Chris Jones 2005 Marketing Director Instinct Magazine
Christine Ricciardi 2010 Writer
Christy Lemire 1993 Movie Critic Associated Press
Courtney O'Callaghan 2011 Communication Specialist Empower African Children 
Craig Lucie 2004 Anchor/Reporter WSBTV
Danielle Abril 2008 Editor -Allen, Frisco, McKinney The Dallas Morning News Neighborsgo
Donnie Wyar 2008 Editor - Plano, Murphy, Wylie Neighborsgo
Eddie Sefko 1981 Dallas Mavericks Beat Writer  The Dallas Morning News
Edward Egros 2006 Sports Anchor/Reporter  WHNT-TV 
Elisabeth M Brubaker 2010 Freelance Productions Asst. CNN - Piers Morgan Tonight
Elizabeth Ford 2009 Producer WESH 2 News
Elysse Carpenter 2011 Associate Editor Living Magazine
Emery Davis 2007 Preschool/special education teacher  Achziger Elementary, Mesquite ISD
Emily Powell Fox 2005 Staff Writer/News Clerk The Dallas Morning News - Metro
Emily Robards 2005 CNN Political Desk
Erin Bolen 2006 Sportswriter  Springfield News-Leader
Farrar Barker Johnson 2005 Member Alston + bird LLP law firm
Gabe Travers 2007 Digital Media Manager   WESH  
Garrett Haake 2007 Campaign Embed Reporter  NBC News
Genny Carter 2007 Press Secretary ·  Congressman Bill Flores (TX-17) United States Congress
Gloria Salinas 2010 Editor - Irving & Coppell Neighborsgo 
Hays Sibley 2008 Escapes Asst. Editor Living Social 
Helena Moreno 1999 State Representative (June 2010) Louisiana House District 93
Ileana Diaz 2008 Reporter My 9 WWOR TV
Jana Pruet 2010 Asst. Editor/Reporter Neighborsgo - The Dallas Morning News
Jeremy Robuck 2004 Staff Reporter Philiadelphia Inquirer
Jessica Huseman 2011 Blogger HousingWire
Jessica Savage 2006 Investigative reporter   Corpus Christi Caller-Times
Jordan Hofeditz 2010 Sports Reporter  Times-Georgian 
Joshua Parr 2011 Production Secretary   48 Hours | Mystery
Julene Fleurmond 2009 design & creative work
Kaci Koviak 2009 Morning Anchor KETK-TV
Karen Hughes 1977 Global Vice Chair Burson-Marsteller. 
Katie Krause 2007 Entertainment host, writer,producer for television and web content Hollywire
Katy Blakey 2006 Reporter KOCO - TV
Kellyn Curtis 2010 Account Coordinator Strauss Marketing - Bailey Pete Public Relations
Kindal Wright Kreamer 2006 Associate, Business Planning, Taxation and Benefits Practice Group  Haynes and Boone, LLP, Dallas, TX
Kristen Mosteller 2005 weekday morning anchor/reporter XETV
Kristin Sullivan 1990 Asst. Vice President, Media Relations University of Texas at Arlington
Laura Ratliff 2010 Associate Web Producer Conde Nast Traveler Magazine
Lauren Michaels 2011 Marketing Manager Sheyna
Mackenzie Warren 2010 Reporter KSNV News
Mallory McCall 2010 Staff Writer  United Methodist Reporter 
Margaret (Maggie) Stokes 2006 Weekend Morning Anchor KOCO - TV
Maria Alejandra Prato 2010 Acceso Total Entertainment Reporter  NBCUniversal, Telemundo
Marissa O'Connor 2011 Programming Coordinator E! Entertainment
Mark Norris 2008 Managing Editor Digital Properties, FC Dallas
Mark Seibel 1975 Managing Editor, Online McClatchy Washington Bureau
Maya Mahoney 2005 Northeast Deputy Finance Director  Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC)
Megan Connolly 2006 5th Grade Gifted & Talented Teacher Irving Independent School District
Melissa Knowles 2004 Host - Trending Now Yahoo! News
Meredith Ellen Shamburger 2011 Reporter Main Street Connect
Michele Reese  2003 Reporter and coanchor KYTX/Channel 19 News
Michelle Parsons 2006 Texas Regional Manager Wheretraveler
Morgan Parmet 2009 researcher NBC News
Myra Arthur 2007 Evening Anchor 5,6,10 KCEN TV
Nathan Regan 2010 Sports agate clerk Dallas Morning News
Nicole Jacobsen 2011 Producer, Writer CW 33,KDAF
Nicolette Schleisman 2011 Overnight Producer   KXII 
Nima Kapadia 2008 Journalism Advisor Garland High School
Patrick Yack 1974 Vice President, News and Public Media Alaska Public Telecomminications, Inc
Rachael Mackin 2010 Social Media & New York Office Manager Plum TV
Rori Harrington 2005 Student Publications Manager Brookhaven College - 
Samantha Brooke Verrill 2011 Business Manager Pryor Daily Times
Samantha Urban 2009 Asst. Editor LivingSocial
Sarah Acosta 2010 Entertainment Reporter Corpus Christi Caller-Times
Shalisha Galloway 2008 4th grade teacher Houston ISD
Sommer Saadi 2008 Reporter Bloomberg Businessweek
Stephanie Kahan 2006 Senior Account Exec Fleishman-Hillard
Stephen Lu 2010 Neighborhood Editor BubbleLife Media
Steven Ross Thompson 2011 Reporter Dallas Business Journal
Taylor Adams 2011 Editor White Rock|East Dallas neighborsgo
Teresa Nguyen 2005 Owner Red iD Branding & Marketing Agency
Tiffany Glick 2008 Web Editor Post-Newsweek Stations
Veronica Munoz 2007 Weekend Producer  KUVN-Univision 
Veronica Terefenco 2005 Copy Editor Gannett Company
Victor Nguyen 2006 Sports Producer KDFW Fox 4 TV

Areas of Study



Art History

Arts Management and Arts Entrepreneurship

Communication Studies

Creative Computation


Film and Media Arts


Undergraduate Studies



Faculty and Staff


Division Projects

Advisory Board


Journalism in Dallas


Mission Statement