Give Now


Retiring Faculty


Timothy W. Crusius, Professor of English in Dedman College, joined SMU’s faculty in 1990 after teaching at Texas A&M and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He earned both B.A. and M.A. degrees in English at the University of Houston and a Ph.D. in rhetoric, literature and linguistics from the University of Southern California. Professor Crusius’s major research interests were in rhetorical and literary theory, composition studies, philosophy and Native American literature. He is the author of three scholarly monographs and co-author of two popular textbooks on rhetoric and writing. His most recent book, co-authored with Carolyn Channell, is Engaging Questions: A Guide to Writing (2011). The Aims of Argument: A Rhetoric and Reader (1995), also co-authored with Channell, is in its eighth edition. His 1999 book, Kenneth Burke and the Conversation after Philosophy, is widely considered a major study of Burke’s criticism. Professor Crusius served SMU as director of discursive writing from 1990 to 1995 and as the English Department’s internship coordinator for 15 years. Although strongly devoted to undergraduate teaching, he served as a reader on several dozen master’s and Ph.D. thesis committees and reviewed countless book and article manuscripts. He retires as Professor Emeritus of English.


John A. Mears, Associate Professor of History in Dedman College, came to SMU in 1967. He earned a B.A. degree magna cum laude at the University of Minnesota, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa in his junior year, and both M.A. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Chicago. Before joining SMU’s history faculty, he began his teaching career in 1964 at New Mexico State University. His honors include a Woodrow Wilson Fellowship and two National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships. Professor Mears initially specialized in early modern European history, with particular interests in the emergence of standing professional armies and the Hapsburg Monarchy. He later broadened his interests to encompass world history. He served as president of the World History Association from 1994-96 and remains active in the new International Big History Association. He co-authored a world history textbook, Achievements Through the Ages, and currently is working on a volume titled To Be Human: A Perspective on Our Common History. A devoted University citizen, Professor Mears served on numerous campus committees, as director of the SMU-in-Austria program and as director of SMU International Programs from 1984 to 1992. He retires as Professor Emeritus of History.


Stephen A. Szygenda held four titles in the Lyle School of Engineering: Dean, Cecil H. Green Chair of Engineering, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering and Professor of Engineering Management, Information and Systems. He joined SMU in 2000 as Dean of the School Engineering and held that position until 2004, when he assumed the Green Chair. As dean he implemented significant programs, including two new departments, an executive master’s degree program, Industry Scholars program,  gender parity program and Institute for Engineering Education. He previously served as Dean of Engineering at the University of Alabama–Birmingham and Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at The University of Texas–Austin. He received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Northwestern University. During his academic career, Professor Szygenda graduated more than 100 M.S. and 45 Ph.D. students, acquired extensive government and industry research funding, received numerous awards and published over 150 papers. He served as president of several industrial organizations. With more than 45 years of experience, Professor Szygenda is a pioneer in areas of academic strategic planning, technology transfer, business management, entrepreneurship, computer-aided design, fault-tolerant and disaster-tolerant computing and communications, and economic development.  He retires as Professor Emeritus of Engineering.


Shlomo Weber is the Robert H. and Nancy Dedman Trustee Professor of Economics in Dedman College. He received his M.Sc. in mathematics from Moscow State University and Ph.D. in mathematical economics from Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He taught at Haifa University in Israel and York University in Toronto before joining SMU in 1993. At SMU he served as chair of the Economics Department from 1994-2000 and later as director of the Richard B. Johnson Center for Economic Studies. He also served as academic or research director in institutions across the globe, including the Center for Operations Research and Econometrics in Belgium, the International School of Economics in Tbilisi, Georgia, and the New Economic School in Moscow. An eminent game theorist, Professor Weber has published over 100 articles in leading economics and political science journals. He co-authored the book How Many Languages Do We Need?: The Economics of Linguistic Diversity and co-edited the Oxford Handbook of Russian Economy and the Palgrave Handbook of Economics and Language. He has consulted for organizations and governments in North America, Europe and Asia. His numerous international honors include the German Humboldt Prize for outstanding foreign scholars and the Russian Megagrant Award. He retires as Professor Emeritus of Economics.