December Commencement Convocation

December Graduation


Ray L. Hunt

Ray L. Hunt has served his profession, his university and his community with dedication and distinction. A leader in the global energy industry, he currently is chair, president and CEO of Hunt Consolidated Inc. and chair of Hunt Consolidated Energy and Hunt Consolidated Investments.

Hunt graduated from SMU in 1965 with a B.A. in economics. He was a University Scholar and received the Outstanding Business Student Award. Through the years, Hunt has provided visionary leadership and generous support for his alma mater. A member of the SMU Board of Trustees since 1976, he was board chair from 1987 to 1992. He currently serves as a co-chair of SMU’s Second Century Campaign and on the Advisory Board of the Maguire Energy Institute. His past leadership positions include president of the Alumni Association and member of the President’s Leadership Council and boards of Cox School of Business, Meadows School of the Arts and Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility. His support for SMU includes establishing the Hunt Leadership Scholars program with his wife, Nancy Ann, in 1993.

Hunt was a member of the steering committee that directed SMU’s successful bid for the George W. Bush Presidential Center. He currently serves on the Board of Advisors of the Bush Institute and as a member of the Bush Presidential Foundation. His civic leadership has included service as chair of the Dallas Citizens Council, North Texas Commission and Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

SMU has honored Hunt with its Distinguished Alumni Award and the Cox School of Business Distinguished Alumni Award. Ray and Nancy Ann Hunt together received SMU’s Foundation for the Future Award and the J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award of SMU’s Maguire Ethics Center. Hunt has been inducted into the Dallas and Texas Business Halls of Fame and received the Distinguished Business Leader Award from the Texas Association of Business. Among his civic awards are the Linz Award from The Dallas Morning News, the H. Neil Mallon Award from the Dallas Council on World Affairs and the Sprague Community Service Award from the Southwestern Medical Foundation. His professional honors include the American Petroleum Institute Gold Medal for Distinguished Achievement, Lifetime Achievement Award from the North Texas Energy Council and Public Service Award from the Society of Petroleum Engineers.