Give Now

This calendar includes an addendum listing religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Graduate Programs in the Cox School of Business, Perkins School of Theology and Dedman School of Law have different calendars.

Offices of the University will be closed on September 6, November 25-26, December 24-31, 2010; January 17, April 22, May 30, 2011.

Fall Term 2010

  • April 5 – April 23, Monday – Friday: Enrollment Fall 2010 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman & Meadows.
  • May/July/August -TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent
  • August 21, Saturday: Residence halls officially open.
  • August 22, Sunday: Opening Convocation, McFarlin Auditorium.
  • August 23, Monday: First day of classes.
  • August 27, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for graduation in December
  • September 6, Monday: University Holiday - Labor Day.
  • September 8, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • September 24-25, Friday-Saturday: Family Weekend.
  • October 6, Friday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before November enrollment.
  • October 11-12, Monday-Tuesday: Fall Break
  • October 22-23, Friday-Saturday: Homecoming.
  • November 1 - November 19, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Spring 2011 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • November 5, Friday: Last day to drop a course.
  • November 11, Thursday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • November 19, Friday: Students should file for May graduation. Last day to file is January 24.
  • November 23, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University
  • November 24, Wednesday: “No Class” Day
  • November 25-26, Thursday- Friday: University Holiday – Thanksgiving.
  • December 1-6, Wednesday-Monday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • December 2, Thursday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
  • December 6, Monday: Last day of instruction.
  • December 7, Tuesday: Reading Day
  • December 8-15, Wednesday-Wednesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Saturday and Sunday).
  • December 16, Thursday: Residence halls close at 10:00 a.m. for Winter Break. (December graduates contact RLSH).
  • December 18, Saturday: Official close of term and date for conferral of degrees. Graduation ceremony for December graduates.
  • December 19, Sunday: Residence halls close for graduating seniors at 10:00 a.m.
  • December 25, Saturday: University Holiday – Christmas/Winter Break.
  • December 31, Friday: New Year's Day Holiday

January Inter-term 2011

  • (Note: Some areas of instruction offer selected courses during the January Inter-term, December 20– January 17.)

Spring Term 2011

  • November 1-January 24, Monday-Monday: Enrollment Spring 2011 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • January - TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first- year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • January 11, Tuesday: Residence halls officially open.
  • January 17, Monday: University Holiday – Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
  • January 18, Tuesday: First day of classes.
  • January 24, Monday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for May graduation.
  • February 2, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first- year repeated course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • March 12-20, Saturday-Sunday: Spring Break.
  • April 1, Friday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before April enrollment.
  • April 6, Wednesday: Last day to drop a course.
  • April 4--22, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Summer 2011 and Fall 2011 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • April 11, Monday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • April 11, Monday: Honors Day, 5:30 p.m.
  • April 19, Tuesday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August is June 4. Last day to file for December is the last day to enroll for Fall 2011.
  • April 22, Friday: University Holiday – Good Friday.
  • April 24, Sunday: Easter Sunday
  • April 25, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • April 28-May 3, Thursday-Tuesday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • May 2, Monday: Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
  • May 3, Tuesday: Last day of instruction. Follows a Friday schedule.
  • May 4-10, Wednesday -Tuesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).
  • May 11, Wednesday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
  • May 13, Friday: Baccalaureate.
  • May 14, Saturday: Commencement.
  • May 15, Sunday: Resident halls officially close for graduating seniors.

May Term 2011

Some areas of instruction may offer a limited number of selected courses during the May Term period, May 11–29. Each May Term course may have unique start and end dates within the May 11-29 term to accommodate the particular needs of the course.

The following dates are applicable only for courses offered at the Taos campus:

  • May 11, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Travel Day and Arrival, 2-6 p.m.
  • May 12, Thursday: SMU-in-Taos: First Day of Classes.
  • May 13, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • May 28, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Examinations
  • May 29, Sunday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Departure.

Summer Term 2011

The Summer Term consists of three primary sessions: first session, second session, and full summer session. There are also shorter and longer sessions to accommodate the particular needs of the various instructional units such as SMU-In-Taos, International Programs and Perkins School of Theology.

Full Summer Session

Classes will meet 2 hours and 15 minutes twice a week or 1 hour and 30 minutes three times a week.

  • May 30, Monday: University Holiday – Memorial Day
  • May 31, Tuesday: First day of Combined Summer Session classes.
  • June 3, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for Full Summer Session course. Last day to file for August graduation
  • June 9, Thursday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options for a Full Summer Session course.
  • July 4, Monday: University Holiday – Independence Day.
  • July 5, Tuesday: Follows a Monday class schedule.
  • July 15, Friday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 22, Friday: Last day to drop a Full Summer Session course.
  • July 27, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 3, Wednesday: Last day of Full Summer Session instructions and examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

First Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday.

  • May 30, Monday: University Holiday – Memorial Day
  • May 31, Tuesday: First day of First Session Classes.
  • June 1, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for a First Session course.
  • June 3, Friday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options for a First Session Course. Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • June 22, Wednesday: Last day to drop a First Session course.
  • June 23, Thursday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • June 29, Wednesday: Last day of First Session instruction and examinations.

Taos Summer I Session

  • June 3, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Arrival and First Day of Classes.
  • June 4, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • July 1, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Examinations.
  • July 2, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Departure.

Second Session

  • Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday
  • June 3, Friday: Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • June 30, Thursday: First day of Second Session classes.
  • July 1, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop without grade record or tuition billing for Second Session courses.
  • July 4, Monday: University Holiday – Independence Day.
  • July 6, Wednesday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Second Session course.
  • July 12, Tuesday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 22, Friday: Last day to drop a Second Session course.
  • July 26, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 1, Monday: Last day of Second Session instruction and examinations.
  • August 3, Wednesday: Official close of the term and conferral date.

Taos August Term 2011

  • August 2, Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Arrival
  • August 3, Wednesday: First Day of Classes
  • August 4, Thursday: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • August 19, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Examinations.
  • August 20, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Departure.

Major Religious Holidays

August 2010-August 2011

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas December 25, 2010
Good Friday April 22, 2011
Easter Sunday April 24, 2011
Easter Sunday (Orthodox) April 24, 2011

Hindu

Janmashtami September 2, 2010
Dasera October 17, 2010
Diwali November 5, 2010

Jewish*

*All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.
Rosh Hashanah September 9-10, 2010
Yom Kippur September 18, 2010
Sukkot September 23-24, 2010
Hanukkah December 2, 2010
Pesach (Passover) April 19-26, 2011
Shavuot June 8-9, 2011

Muslim

Ramadan August 11, 2010
Eid al Fitr September 10, 2010
Eid al Adha November 17, 2010
Islamic New Year December 7, 2010
Ashura December 16, 2010
Mawlid an Nabi February 15, 2011