Give Now

This calendar includes an addendum listing religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Graduate Programs in the Cox School of Business, Perkins School of Theology and Dedman School of Law have different calendars.

Offices of the University will be closed on September 7, November 26-27, December 21-25, 2009; January 1, January 18, April 2, May 31 and July 5, 2010.

Fall Term 2009

  • March 31 – April 17, Monday – Friday: Enrollment Fall 2009 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman & Meadows.
  • May/July/August -TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • TBA: Residence halls officially open.
  • August 25, Tuesday: Opening Convocation, McFarlin Auditorium.
  • August 26, Wednesday: First day of classes.
  • September 1, Tuesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last
  • day to file for graduation in December.
  • September 7, Monday: University Holiday - Labor Day.
  • September 9, Wednesday: Follows Monday Class Schedule.
  • September 11, Friday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • October 7, Wednesday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before November enrollment.
  • October 12-13, Monday-Tuesday: Fall Break
  • November 2 -November 20, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Spring 2010 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • November 3, Tuesday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • November 7, Friday-Saturday: Homecoming.
  • November 10, Tuesday: Last day to drop a course.
  • November 13-14, Friday-Saturday: Family Weekend.
  • November 16, Monday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • November 24, Tuesday: Students should file for May graduation. Last day to file is January 21.
  • November 25, Wednesday: “No Class” Day
  • November 26-27, Thursday- Friday: University Holiday – Thanksgiving.
  • December 1, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • December 4-9, Friday-Wednesday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • December 7, Monday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
  • December 9, Wednesday: Last day of instruction.
  • December 10, Thursday: Reading Day
  • December 11-17, Friday-Thursday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).
  • December 18, Friday: Residence halls officially close. (December graduates contact RLSH)
  • December 19, Saturday: Official close of term and date for conferral of degrees. Graduation ceremony for December graduates.
  • December 25, Friday: University Holiday – Christmas/Winter Break.

January Inter-term 2010

  • January 1, Friday: University Holiday - New Year’s
  • (Note: Some areas of instruction offer selected courses during the January Inter-term, December 22– January 15.)

Spring Term 2010

  • November 2-January 25, Monday-Thursday: Enrollment Spring 2010 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • January 1, Friday: University Holiday - New Year’s
  • January 12, Tuesday: Residence halls officially open.
  • January 13, Wednesday: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first- year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • January 18, Monday: University Holiday – Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday
  • January 19, Tuesday: First day of classes.
  • January 25, Monday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for May graduation.
  • February 3, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first- year repeated course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • March 6-14, Saturday-Sunday: Spring Break.
  • April 2, Friday: University Holiday – Good Friday.
  • April 4, Sunday: Easter Sunday
  • April 5-23, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Summer 2010 and Fall 2010 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • April 5, Monday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before April enrollment.
  • April 8, Thursday: Last day to drop a course.
  • April 12, Monday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • April 19, Monday: Honors Day, 5:30 p.m.
  • April 20, Tuesday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August is June 4.
  • Last day to file for December is the last day to enroll for Fall 2010.
  • April 26, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • April 29-May 4, Thursday-Tuesday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • April 30, Friday: Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
  • May 4, Tuesday: Last day of instruction - Follows a Friday Class Schedule.
  • May 5-11, Wednesday - Tuesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).
  • May 12, Wednesday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
  • May 14, Friday: Baccalaureate.
  • May 15, Saturday: Commencement.
  • May 16, Sunday: Residence halls close for graduating students.

May Term 2010

Some areas of instruction may offer a limited number of selected courses during the May Term period, May 12-30. Each May Term course may have unique start and end dates within the May 12-30 term to accommodate the particular needs of the course.

  • May 12, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Travel Day and Arrival, 2-6 p.m.
  • May 13, Thursday: SMU-in-Taos: First Day of Classes.
  • May 14, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • May 29, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Examinations
  • May 30, Sunday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Departure.

Summer Term 2010

The Summer Term consists of three primary sessions: first session, second session, and a combined session. There are also shorter and longer sessions to accommodate the particular needs of the various instructional units such as SMU-In-Taos, International Programs and Perkins School of Theology.

Full Summer Session

Classes will meet 2 hours and 15 minutes twice a week or 1 hour and 30 minutes three times a week.

  • May 31, Monday: University Holiday – Memorial Day
  • June 1, Tuesday: First day of Combined Summer Session classes.
  • June 4, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for Full Session course. Last day to file for August graduation
  • June 10, Thursday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options for a Full Session course.
  • July 4-5, Sunday-Monday: University Holiday – Independence Day.
  • July 6, Tuesday: Follows a Monday class schedule.
  • July 16, Friday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 23, Friday: Last day to drop a Combined Summer Session course.
  • July 29, Thursday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 4, Wednesday: Last day of Combined Summer Session instructions and examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

First Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday.

  • May 31, Monday: University Holiday – Memorial Day
  • June 1, Tuesday: First day of First Session Classes.
  • June 2, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for a First Session course.
  • June 4, Friday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options for a First Session Course. Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • June 23, Wednesday: Last day to drop a First Session course.
  • June 24, Thursday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • June 30, Wednesday: Last day of First Session instruction and examinations.

Taos Summer I Session

  • June 3, Thursday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Arrival and First Day of Classes.
  • June 4, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • June 30, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Examinations.
  • June 30, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Departure.

Second Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday

  • June 4, Friday: Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • July 1, Thursday: First day of Second Session classes.
  • July 2, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop without grade record or tuition billing for Second Session courses.
  • July 4-5, Sunday-Monday: University Holiday – Independence Day.
  • July 6, Tuesday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Second Session course.
  • July 13, Tuesday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 23, Friday: Last day to drop a Second Session course.
  • July 27, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 2, Monday: Last day of Second Session instruction and examinations.
  • August 4, Wednesday: Official close of the term and conferral date.

Taos August Term 2010

  • August 5, Thursday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Arrival and First Day of Classes, 2-6 p.m.
  • August 6, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • August 22, Sunday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Examinations.
  • August 23, Monday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Departure.

Major Religious Holidays

August 2009-August 2010

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas December 25, 2009
Ash Wednesday February 17, 2010
Palm Sunday March 28, 2010
Good Friday April 2, 2010
Easter Sunday April 4, 2010
Easter Sunday (Orthodox) April 4, 2010

Hindu

Janmashtami August 14, 2009
Dasera September 28, 2009
Diwali October 17, 2009

Jewish

All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.
Rosh Hashanah September 19-20, 2009
Yom Kippur September 28, 2009
Sukkot October 3-9, 2009
Hanukkah December 12-19, 2009
Pesach (Passover) March 30-31, 2010
April 5-6, 2010 (Passover last two days)
Shavuot May 19-20, 2010

Muslim

Ramadan August 22, 2009
Eid al Fitr September 21, 2009
Eid al Adha November 28, 2009
Islamic New Year December 18, 2009
Ashura December 27, 2009