Attached to this calendar is an addendum listing religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Graduate programs in Cox School of Business, School of Engineering, Perkins School of Theology, and Dedman School of Law have different calendars.

Offices of the University will be closed on September 5, November 24-25, and December 26-30, 2005; January 2, January 16, April 14, May 29, and July 4, 2006.

Fall Term 2005

  • April 4-April 22: Enrollment Fall 2005Continuing Students: for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
    May/July/August TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment, and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first-year, transfer, and readmitted undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560. www.smu.edu/newstudent.
    August 14, Sunday: Residence halls officially open.
    August 17, Wednesday: Opening Convocation, McFarlin Auditorium.
    August 18, Thursday: First day of classes.
    August 24, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for graduation December.
    September 2, Friday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
    September 5, Monday: University Holiday - Labor Day.
    September 23-25, Friday-Sunday: Family Weekend.
    October 6, Thursday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their major for November enrollment.
    October 10-11, Monday-Tuesday: Fall Break.
    October 31-November 18, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Spring 2006 Continuing Students: for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
    November 2, Wednesday: Last day to drop a course.
    November 4-6, Friday-Sunday: Homecoming.
    November 8, Tuesday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
    November 16, Wednesday: Students should file for May graduation. Last day to file is January 23, 2006.
    November 18, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    November 23, Wednesday: No Classes.
    November 24-25, Thursday-Friday: University Holidays - Thanksgiving.
    November 28-December 1, Monday-Thursday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
    November 29, Tuesday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
    December 1, Thursday: Last day of instruction. Students and faculty will follow a Monday class schedule.
    December 2-3, Friday-Saturday: Reading Days - No classes.
    December 5-10, Monday-Saturday: Examinations (no examinations scheduled for Sunday).
    December 10, Saturday: Official close of term and date for conferral of degrees. Graduation ceremony for December graduates.
    December 11, Sunday: Residence halls officially close.
    December 26-30, Monday-Friday: University Holidays - Christmas/Winter Break.

Note: Some areas of instruction offer selected courses during the January Interterm, December 12-January 9.

Spring Term 2006

  • October 31-November 18: Monday - Friday: Enrollment Spring 2006 Continuing Students: for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
    January 2, Monday: University Holiday - New Year-s Day.
    January 9, Monday: Residence halls officially open.
    TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment, and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first-year, transfer, and readmitted undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560.
    January 16, Monday: University Holiday - Martin Luther King Jr.-s Birthday.
    January 17, Tuesday: First day of classes.
    January 23, Monday: Last day to enroll, add courses, or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for May graduation.
    February 1, Wednesday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading option. Last day for students to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
    March 13-18, Monday-Saturday: Spring Break.
    March 27, Monday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their major for April enrollment.
    March 27-April 13, Monday-Thursday: Summer 2006 and Fall 2006 Continuing Student Enrollment: for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
    April 5, Wednesday: Last day to drop a course.
    April 7, Friday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
    April 14, Friday: University Holiday - Good Friday.
    April 24, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    April 24, Monday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August is June 1. Last day to file for December is the last day to enroll for Fall 2006.
    April 27-May 2, Thursday-Tuesday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
    April 28, Friday: Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
    May 2, Tuesday: Last day of instruction.
    May 3-4, Wednesday-Thursday: Reading days - no classes.
    May 5-May 11, Friday-Thursday: Examinations (no examinations scheduled for Sunday).
    May 12, Friday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
    May 19, Friday: Baccalaureate.
    May 20, Saturday: Commencement and date for conferral of degrees.
    May 21, Sunday: Residence halls officially close for graduating students.
    May 29, Monday: University Holiday - Memorial Day.

May Term 2006

  • May 12, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Arrival and First Day of Classes, 2-6 p.m.
    May 15, Monday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses, and to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
    May 29, Monday: SMU-in-Taos, May Term Examinations.
    May 30, Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos, May Term Departure.

Summer Term 2006

The Summer Term consists of three primary sessions: first session, second session, and a combined session. There are also shorter and longer sessions to accommodate the particular needs of the various instructional units such as SMU-In-Taos, International Programs, and Perkins School of Theology.

Combined 10-Week Summer Session

Classes will meet 2 hours and 15 minutes twice a week or 1 hour and 30 minutes three times a week.

  • June 1, Thursday: First day of Combined Summer Session classes.
    June 6, Tuesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for Combined Session courses. Last day to file for August graduation.
    June 12, Monday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Combined Session course.
    June 17, Saturday: Additional class day for M/W/F classes.
    July 4, Tuesday: University Holiday - Independence Day.
    July 17, Monday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
    July 24, Monday: Last day to drop a Combined Summer Session course.
    July 28, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    July 29, Saturday: Additional class day for M/W/F classes.
    August 2, Wednesday: Last day of Combined Summer Session instructions and examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

First Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday-Friday.

  • June 2, Friday: SMU-in-Taos, Summer I Arrival.  First Day of Classes, 2 - 6pm.
    June 2, Friday: SMU-in-Taos, Last day to enroll, add courses, and to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
    June 28, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos, Summer I examinations.
    June 29, Thursday: SMU-in-Taos, Summer I departure.
    June 1, Thursday: First day of First Session classes.
    June 2, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses, or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for First Session courses.
    June 6, Tuesday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a First Session course. Last day to file for August graduation.
    June 22, Thursday: Last day to drop a First Session course.
    June 26, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    June 30, Friday: Last day of First Session instruction and examinations.

Second Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday-Friday.

  • July 3, Monday: First day of Second Session classes.
    July 4, Tuesday: University Holiday - Independence Day.
    July 5, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop without grade record or tuition billing for Second Session courses
    July 7, Friday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Second Session course.
    July 13, Thursday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
    July 25, Tuesday: Last day to drop a Second Session course.
    July 27, Thursday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
    August 2, Wednesday: Last day of Second Session instruction and examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

August Term 2006

  • July 28, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Arrival and First Day of Classes, 2-6 p.m.
    July 29, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses, and to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
    August 14, Monday: SMU-in-Taos: August term examinations.
    August 15, Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos: August term departures.

Major Religious Holidays August 2005-August 2006)

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas: December 25, 2005
Ash Wednesday: March 1, 2006
Good Friday: April 14, 2006
Easter Sunday: April 16, 2006
Easter Sunday (Orthodox): April 23, 2006

Hindu

Dashara: October 4-12, 2005
Dessehra: October 12, 2005
Diwali: November 1, 2005

Jewish

All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.

Rosh Hashanah: (2 days) October 4-5, 2005
Yom Kippur: October 13, 2005
Sukkot: October 18-26, 2005
Hanukkah: December 26, 2005-January 2, 2006
Passover: April 13-20, 2006
Shavuot: (2 days) June 2-3, 2006

Muslim

Ramadan: October 4-November 3, 2005
Id al-Fitr: November 3, 2005
Eid Al-Adha: January 10-13, 2006
Islamic New Year: January 31, 2006
Ashura: February 9, 2006
Mawlid al-Nabi: April 12, 2006