Embrey Human Rights Program

Student Leadership Initiative

 Applications for the 2017-2018 SLI Board of Directors are now being accepted!

Application forms are due to Karly Zrake at kzrake@smu.edu by April 7th - click here to download.

 

The mission of the Student Leadership Initiative (SLI) is to help students empower themselves and gain vital skills through real world experience in promoting, defending, and extending human rights during their college career. 

SLI was founded in 2010 and became a fully chartered student organization in 2016. Meetings are held weekly during the fall and spring semesters. Any student is welcome to add a voice to the discussions and decisions. Students in SLI work for positive change in a number of ways, including by:

  • Cultivating a conscious and committed SMU student body;
  • Organizing events and trips for service, socializing, and activism;
  • Offering student perspectives on the EHRP calendar and curriculum;
  • Overseeing the budget for human rights student organizations;
  • Encouraging greater participation in the EHRP major and minor, trips, and outreach; and
  • Fostering a close knit and supportive human rights community on campus.

SLI is governed by a small board of directors consisting of exceptionally motivated students. The board observes a non-hierarchical leadership structure in which each member participates equally according to her or his abilities and desires. Board members serve one year terms, with the possibility for subsequent terms. Any SMU undergraduate is eligible to join the board, although human rights majors and minors are especially encouraged to apply. Applications for the following academic year are accepted each spring.

To learn more about SLI or attend a meeting, contact any of the board members.

 

2016-2017 SLI Board of Directors

Dominique Earland

dearland@smu.edu

Jacquelyn Elias

jelias@smu.edu

Sana Hussein

shussein@smu.edu

Kendell Miller-Roberts

kmillerrober@smu.edu

Ashley Park

ajpark@smu.edu

Jin Ae Sakai

jsakai@smu.edu

Karly Zrake

kzrake@smu.edu