Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry - Fall 2011

Chemistry Faculty & Staff



Department of Chemistry 
Southern Methodist University

Fondren Science - 231

3215 Daniel Avenue
P.O. Box 750314
Dallas, TX 75275-0314 

Telephone: (214) 768-2480
Fax: (214) 768-4089
Email:  chem@smu.edu
Twitter: @SMU_Chemistry



Photo of Andrea Adams 
Andrea A. Adams
Sr. Lecturer
FOSC 149
214.768.4075
aadams@smu.edu
M.S. Chemistry
Southern Methodist University, 2011
 
  Helen Babbili
Lecturer
DLSB 339
214.768.1932
hbabbili@smu.edu
M.S. Chemistry
Kakatiya Univeristy, 1980

 
Edward R. Biehl
Professor
FOSC 303
214.768.1280
ebiehl@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh, 1961
Organic synthesis of pharmacologically-active compounds, perhalogenated compounds.
John D. Buynak
Professor
FOSC 311
214.768.2484
jbuynak@smu.edu
Ph.D.
Rice University, 1980
Bioorganic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, design of enzyme inhibitors, synthesis of beta-lactam antibiotics and beta-lactamase inhibitors.
Dieter Cremer
Professor
FOSC 325
214.768.1300
dcremer@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Koln, 1972

Computational and theoretical chemistry, development and application of quantum chemical methods, especially electron correlation and relativistic methods, nanotechnology


Werner Horsthemke
Professor
FOSC 313
214.768.4241
whorsthe@smu.edu
Ph.D.
Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium, 1978
Nonequilibrium phenomena and nonlinear dynamics; theoretical studies of pattern formation.
 Alan Humason


Alan Humason
Lab Coordinator, Lecturer
FOSC 254
214.768.3541
ahumason@smu.edu

Ph.D. Graduate Student, Southern Methodist University, Exp. Matriculation: 2015


 

Elfi Kraka
Professor and Chair
FOSC 231 D
214.768.1609
ekraka@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Koln, 1984
Computational and theoretical chemistry, computer assisted drug design, reaction mechanism and reaction dynamics.
Michael Lattman
Professor
FOSC 310
214.768.2467
mlattman@smu.edu
Ph.D.
City University of New York, 1977
Phosphorous calixarane chemistry.
Alex Lippert 
Alex Lippert
Assistant Professor
FOSC 141
214.768.2482
alippert@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania, 2008
Combines innovative organic chemistry with state-of-the-art imaging techniques.
 Dr. Jin Liu Jin Liu
Research Assistant Professor
DLSB 337
214.768.4734
liuj@smu.edu
 
 

Ph.D. The Ohio State University, 2005

Computational chemistry and computational biology, allosteric and membrane fusion mechanism, allosteric drug design for neurodegenerative diseases.

 
Jennifer O'Brien  Jennifer O'Brien
Professor of Practice
FOSC 149
214.768.2461
jobrien@smu.edu 

 

Ph.D., Chemistry, University of North Texas, 1993


 
Laurieann Ram-Kern  Laurieann Ram-Kern
Administrative Coordinator
FOSC 231C
214.768.2611
laurieann@smu.edu
B.Soc.Sc.
Southern Methodist University, 2011
 
Mark A. F. Schell
Professor
FOSC 316
214.768.2478
mschell@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Toronto, 1983
Nonlinear chemical behavior in electrochemical systems.
David Y. Son
Professor
FOSC 317
214.768.8813
dson@smu.edu
Ph.D.
MIT, 1993
Organosilicon polymers, especially as precursors to preceramic polymers and other oxidatively stable materials.
 Peng Tao Peng Tao
Assistant Professor
FOSC 143
214.768.8802
ptao@smu.edu
 

Ph.D.
The Ohio State University, 2007

Computational enzymology, development of free energy sampling methods, molecular mechanism of redox cell signaling processes.

 
  Nicolay V. (Nick) Tsarevsky
Assistant Professor
FOSC 305
214.768.3259
nvt@smu.edu
Ph.D.
Carnegie Mellon University, 2005
Polymer chemistry.
Patty J. Wisian-Neilson
Professor
FOSC 309
214.768.2483
pwisian@smu.edu
Ph.D.
University of Texas, Austin, 1976
Cyclic and polymeric phosphazenes; synthesis and applications.
  Brian Zoltowski
Assistant Professor
FOSC 307
214.768/2640
bzoltowski@smu.edu
Ph.D.
Cornell University, 2008
Chemical biology, protein structure and function, mechanisms of blue-light photoreceptors, protein engineering and enzyme kinetics.