Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Sae-Saue, Jayson     jsaesaue@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Stanford 2010

Saliba, Michael     Website

Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., University of Oklahoma

Salmon, Tim     Website

Professor

Sanchez-Garcia, Milagros     milsanc@smu.edu       214-768-2289 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Colorado State University

Sanchez-Godoy, Ruben     rgodoy@smu.edu       214-768-1418
Assistant Professor


Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Sanchez, Rosemary     rsanchez@smu.edu       214-768-1405

Administrative Assistant

Satz, Martha     msatz@smu.edu       214-768-2855 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Research Interests: 19th Century British Literature, Minority Literature
Scalise, Randall J.     scalise@smu.edu       214-768-2504 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., Penn State University

Research Interests: High Energy Physics, Quark, Quantum Chromodynamics
Schell, Mark A.F.     mschell@smu.edu       214-768-2478 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Toronto

Schneider, Keiko K.     kschneid@smu.edu       214-768-3143 Website

Lecturer

M.A., School for International Training

Research Interests: Japanese
Schucany, William R.     schucany@smu.edu       214-768-2464 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Southern Methodist University

Research Interests: Data Analysis, Medical Research, Survey Sampling Business Records, Local Linear and Kernels, Adaptive Bandwidths, Resamplin Methodology, Randomization Tests
Schwartz, Nina E.     nschwart@smu.edu       214-768-3770 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Irvine

Scwob, Stephanie     sschwob@smu.edu       214-768-2770

Administrative Assistant

M.S., University of Utah

Seaney, Ona     oseaney@smu.edu       214-768-2394

Lecturer

University of New Mexico

Seets, Carol Sue     cseets@smu.edu       214-768-1886 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Texas at Dallas

Sekula, Steven     ssekula@smu.edu       214-768-7832 Website
Assistant Professor


Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Research Interests: Experimental Particle Physics
Serra, Danila           214-768-4298 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D. University of Oxford

Shiao, Ling A.     lshiao@smu.edu       214-768-3683 Website

Assistant Professor

M.A., Pennsylvania State University

Research Interests: Chinese Communism, Chinese Intellectual and Cultural History, Chinese Society, Gender and Chinese Society
Shi, Yun     yshi@smu.edu       214-768-3927
Visiting Lecturer 


M.A., Nankai University

Short, Genie     gdshort25@aol.com Website
Adjunct Professor

Ph.D., University of Virgina

Shuey, Deborah     dshuey@smu.edu       214-768-2452
Administrative Assistant II


Siegle, Clive     csiegle@smu.edu

Adjunct Lecturer

Southern Methodist University

Simon, Dennis M.     dsimon@smu.edu       214-768-2527 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Michigan State University

Research Interests: American Political Institutions, American Political Behavior, Resamplin Methodology
Simpson, Lorelei E.     lsimpson@smu.edu       214-768-2395 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests: Relationship Aggression, Couples Therapy, Bipolar Disorder, Risk Factors, Life Stress, Mental Illness, Relationship Functioning, Conjoint Treatment, Relationship Distress, Interventions
Siraganian, Lisa M.     lsiragan@smu.edu       214-768-2982 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature, Critical Theory
Skelton, Edward     ed.skelton@dal.frb.org Website
Adjunct Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Slottje, Daniel J.     dslottje@smu.edu Website

Professor

Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Smith, Charles W.     cwsmith@smu.edu       214-768-2957 Website

Professor

M.A., Northern Illinois University

Research Interests: Creative Writing, Fiction, Film
Smith-Morris, Carolyn     smithmor@smu.edu       214-768-2878 Website

Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D., University of Arizona at Tucson

Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, Chronic disease, especially diabetes and diseases of development, Mexican Migrants, Native Americans, U.S., Mexico
Smith, Sherry L.     sherrys@smu.edu       214-768-1312 Website

University Distinguished Professor and Associate Director of the Clements Center for Southwest Studies

Ph.D., University of Washington

Research Interests: American West, Native American Indians
Smits, Jasper     jsmits@smu.edu       214-768-4125 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Anxiety Disorders, Health, Health Behavior Change, Novel Treatment, Augmentation Strategies, Efficacy of Interventions
Solera-Adoboe, Susana     adoboe@smu.edu Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Son, David Y.     dson@smu.edu       214-768-8813 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Research Interests: Organosilicon Polymers
Soutter, Cathey     csoutter@smu.edu       214-768-4795


Southern Methodist University

Spaniolo, Sally     sspaniolo@mail.smu.edu       214-768-2094

Associate Director of the University Honors Program

M.A., Michigan State University

Spiegelman, Willard L.     wspiegel@smu.edu       214-768-2535 Website

Professor, Dwaine E. Hughes, Jr., Distinguished Chair in English

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: 20th Century Poetry, British Romantic Literature
Stanley, Harold W.     hstanley@smu.edu       214-768-2529 Website

Professor, Guerin-Pettus Distinguished Chair in American Politics and Political Economy

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: American Government, Latino Politics, Presidential Elections, Southern Politics
Stearns, Linda B.     lstearns@smu.edu Website

Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook

Steen, Charles     docsteen@mindspring.com Website
Adjunct Professor

Ph.D.,University of Virginia

Stephens, Lori Ann     loris@smu.edu       214-768-4375 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Stewart, Charee     charees@smu.edu       214-768-2118

Administrative Assistant

Stigler, Brandilyn S.     bstigler@smu.edu       214-768-2514 Website

David Starr Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Ph.D., Virginia Tech

Research Interests: Mathematical Framework, Groebner Basis Techniques, Computational Commutative Algebra, Computational Biology, Biochemical Networks, Algorithms
Stillman, Tabari     tstillman@smu.edu       214-768-4896

Research Associate I

Stokes, Lynne S.     slstokes@smu.edu       214-768-2270 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Research Interests: Non-Sampling Error Modeling, Capture/Recapture Methods
Stone, Tom E.     tstone@smu.edu       214-768-2963 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Denver

Strecker, Teresa     tstrecher@smu.edu       214-768-1784 Website

Lecturer


Stroynowski, Ryszard A.     rstroyno@smu.edu       214-768-2008 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Geneva

Research Interests: High Energy Physics, Structure of Matter, Quark, Partonicstructure of the Proton, Theory of Strong Interactions, Hadron Collider
Stuckey, Troy H.           214-768-2750 Website

Adjunct Faculty

P.h.D University of North Texas

Stump, Brian W.     bstump@smu.edu       214-768-1223 Website

Professor, Claude C. Albritton, Jr. Chair in Geological Sciences

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Research Interests: Seismology
Sudan, Rajani     rsudan@smu.edu       214-768-2062 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University

Research Interests: 18th Century British Literature, Colonial Literature, Post-Colonial Literature
Sverdilk, Steven D.     sverdlik@smu.edu       214-768-3364 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Ethics, Action Theory, Moral Psychology, Deontic Significance of Motives, Moral Theories
Swann, Marjorie     mswann@smu.edu       214-768-7882 Website

Associate Professor

D. Phil., Oxford

Research Interests: Art Collecting in Kansas and the Great Plains, History of Visual Arts, Renaissance Material Culture