Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Babbili, Helen     hbabbili@smu.edu       214-768-1932 Website

Senior Lecturer

M.S., Kakatiya University

Baldwin, Austin S.     baldwin@smu.edu       214-768-1027 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Research Interests: Social Cognition, Health Intervention, Behavioral Decision-Making
Balke, Nathan     nbalke@smu.edu       214-768-2693 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Research Interests: Macroeconomics, Applied Time Series
Bansal, Manju     mbansal@mail.smu.edu


Kanpur University - India

Research Interests: Hindu
Barnard, George William (Bill)     bbarnard@smu.edu       214-768-2135 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Research Interests: Comparitive Mysticism, Theory and Methods, Religion and the Social Sciences, Contemporary Spirituality, Religion and Healing, Religion and Science, , Pedagogy, Spirituality
Barnes, Eric C.     ebarnes@smu.edu       214-768-2118 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Indiana University

Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, Scientific Explanation, Confirmation Theory, Realist/Anti-Realist Debate, Predictivism, Nature of Scientific Progress, Ethics
Barry-Seaney, Ona     oseaney@smu.edu Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of New Mexico

Bartlett, Scott     sbartlet@mail.smu.edu       214-768-1526
 Advisor

Ph.D., Southern Illinois University, Carbondale

Research Interests: Critical Social Theory, Classical American Philosophy
Batra, Raveendra N.     rbatra@smu.edu       214-768-2707 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Southern Illinois University

Research Interests: International Economics, Macroeconomics
Bauer, Johannes H.     jbauer@smu.edu       214-768-4854 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Free University of Berlin

Beadling, Ashley     abeadling@smu.edu       214-768-4877

Clinical Research Specialist

Beauchamp, William E.     bbeaucha@smu.edu       214-768-2212 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: 19th Century French Literature, 20th Century French Literature, French Stylistics, Literary and Social Semiotics, Francophone Writers, LGBT Literature and Theory, Cultural Studies, Media Studies, Francophone Literature, Semiotics, Critical Theory
Beavers, Roy     rbeavers@smu.edu       214-768-2756

SEM, XRD & Probe Lab Manager

Institute of Electronic Technology

Benes, Judith     jbenes@smu.edu       214-768-2006

Research Associate

Bergman, Steve     sbergman@smu.edu       214-768-1510 Website

Adjunct

P.hD. Princeton University

Berry, Elizabeth     lberry@smu.edu       214-768-2506
Administrative Assistant I


Bettaver, Denis     bettaver@smu.edu       214-768-2818 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Texas at Arlington

Research Interests: French, Business French, Theater, Study Abroad
Biehl, Edward R.     ebiehl@smu.edu       214-768-1280 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Bing, Eric G.     ebing@smu.edu       214-768-2933 Website

Professor of Global Health

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Birrell, Gordon E.     gbirrell@smu.edu       214-768-2216 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Stanford University

Blackwell, David D.     blackwel@smu.edu       214-768-2745 Website

W.B. Hamilton Professor of Geothermal Studies

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: Geothermal
Bonuomo, Damiano     bonuomo@smu.edu       214-768-3963 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Florida, Gainesville

Research Interests: French
Bozorth, Richard R.     rbozorth@smu.edu       214-768-4365 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Research Interests: British Modernism, Gay and Lesbian Studies
Bradley, Jaqueline     jbradle@smu.edu       214-768-2960 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Branch, Debra     debranch@smu.edu       214-768-1537 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Research Interests: Organizations, Occupations, Research Methods, Social Problems, Social Stratification, Sociology of Gender, Race and Ethnicity, Social Statistics, Power, Bureaucracy
Brentegani, Teresa     tbrenteg@smu.edu       214-768-1417 Website

Lecturer

B.A., University of Milan

Research Interests: Italian
Brettell, Caroline B.     cbrettel@smu.edu       214-768-4254 Website

Ruth Collins Altschuler Professor and Director of the Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: Anthropology, Europe, India
Brewster, Charlotte     cbrewste@smu.edu       214-768-3597

Advisor

Brininstool, Andrew     brininstool@smu.edu       214-768-1162 Website

Adjunct

University of Houston

Brown, Alan S.     abrown@smu.edu       214-768-3420 Website

Department of Psychology, Professor

Department of Sociology, Department Chair

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Research Interests: Information Retrieval, Déjà Vu, Tip of the Tongue, Relationship Violence
Brownderville, Greg     Website

Assistant Professor

Brown, Kenitra     kenitra@smu.edu       214-768-2095

Administrative Assistant

Rice University

Brown, Scholle     ssbrown@mail.smu.edu       214-768-2532 Website

Coordinator 

B.B.A., Texas A&M

Buchanan, Christine E.     cbuchana@smu.edu       214-768-2848 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Research Interests: , Bacterial Sporulation, Antibiotic Resistance
Buckley, Paola     pbuckley@smu.edu       214-768-1960 Website

Lecturer

M.A., New York University

Research Interests: French, Second Language Acquisition, Applied Languages, Translation, Interpretation, Business French
Bunch, John     jbunch@smu.edu


Bures, Annie     abures@smu.edu       214-768-1908 Website

Recruiter

B.A., Southern Methodist University

Burkman, Jon Herbert           214-768-4735 Website

Adjunct Professor

Butler, Ronald W.     rbutler@smu.edu       214-768-1426 Website

Professor, Charles F. Frensley Chair in Mathematics

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Statistical Science, Survival Analysis, Saddlepoint Methods, Multivariate Analysis, Reliability Theory, Bootstrap and Robustness, Systems Theory & Stochastic Networks, Complex Variables, Likelihood & Bayesian Inference, Ocean Engineering Applications
Buynak, John D.     jbuynak@smu.edu       214-768-2484 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Rice University

Research Interests: Bio-Organic Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry