Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Political Science

Carberry, Christine     carberry@smu.edu       214-768-2526
Research Associate

Carter, Bradley K.     bkcarter@smu.edu       214-768-2522 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley

Research Interests: Political Thought, Organizational Theory, American Politics, Institutional Development
Cloward, Karisa     kcloward@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

PhD,Yale University 2010

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Equal Access to Courts, Judicial Process, Judicial Decision Making, Empirical Analysis of Legal Issues, Wedding Doctrinal
Corley, Pamela     pcorley@mail.smu.edu       214-768-2406

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Georgia State University

Dorsey, Jimmeca     jdorsey@smu.edu       214-768-2524
Coordinator I

Southern Methodist University

Hollifield , James F.     jhollifi@smu.edu       214-768-2825 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

Research Interests: Immigration, Migration, France, Europe
Ippolito, Dennis S.     ippolito@smu.edu       214-768-2524 Website

Professor, Eugene McElvaney Chair of Political Science

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Research Interests: , Federal Budget Policy, National Policy Institutes, Impact of Demographic Trends
Jillson, Calvin C.     cjillson@smu.edu       214-768-4321 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Maryland

Research Interests: American Political Thought, American Politics, Texas Politics, Presidency, Congress, Political Parties, Democratization, History of Political Thought
Kobylka, Joseph F.     jkobylka@smu.edu       214-768-2525 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Research Interests: Constitutional Law, Politics, Judicial Decision Making, American Political Thought, Supreme Court
Lusztig, Michael     mlusztig@smu.edu       214-768-3530 Website

Professor

Ph.D., McGill University

Research Interests: International Political Economy, Politics of Trade, Republicanism, Comparative Politics, Canadian Politics
Manzetti, Luigi     lmanzett@smu.edu       214-768-4366 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Iowa

Research Interests: Latin American Politics, South America, Privatization, Market Reform
Newton, Diana     dhnewton@smu.edu       214-768-1900

Senior Fellow

Simon, Dennis M.     dsimon@smu.edu       214-768-2527 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Michigan State University

Research Interests: American Political Institutions, American Political Behavior, Resamplin Methodology
Stanley, Harold W.     hstanley@smu.edu       214-768-2529 Website

Professor, Guerin-Pettus Distinguished Chair in American Politics and Political Economy

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: American Government, Latino Politics, Presidential Elections, Southern Politics
Takeuchi, Hiroki     htakeuch@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests: Authoritarian Regimes, East Asia, Game Theory, Political Economy, Chinese Society
Wegren, Stephen K.     swegren@smu.edu       (214) 768-2523 Website

Professor of Political Science
Director of International and Area Studies

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Democratization, Land Reform in Post-Communist States, Peasant State Relations, Political Economy in Post-Communist States, Russia, Social Stratification and Mobility
Wilson, J. Matthew     jmwilson@mail.smu.edu       214-768-4054 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Duke University

Research Interests: Political Psychology, Political Behavior, Religion and Politics, Race and Politics, Political Methodology, American Political Thought