Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Mathematics

Aceves, Alejandro B.     aaceves@smu.edu       214-768-4907 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Research Interests: Nonlinear Optics, Nonlinear Wave Propagation
Ajaev, Vladimir S.     ajaev@smu.edu       214-768-3629 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Research Interests: Dynamical Systems, Instabilities, Boundary Integral Methods, Micro-Channels
Berry, Elizabeth     lberry@smu.edu       214-768-2506
Administrative Assistant I


Carr, Thomas W.     tcarr@smu.edu       214-768-3460 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Research Interests: Dynamical Systems, Bifurcation Theory, Asymptotic and Perturbation Methods, Laser Instabilities, Epidemiology, Coupled Oscillators
Chung, Yeo-Jin     ychung@smu.edu       214-768-3369 Website

David W. Starr Visiting Assistant Professor

Ph.D. University of California at Irvine

Research Interests: Applied Mathematics, Nonlinear Optics, Electrodynamics
Davis, Robert C.     rcdavis@smu.edu       214-768-2518 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Tulane University

Research Interests: Category Theory, Universal Co-Algebra, Nonstandard Analysis
Haberman, Richard     rhaberma@smu.edu       214-768-2519 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Research Interests: Nonlinear Wave Motion, Mathematical Model Shocks, Fluid Dynamics, Solitonstraffic Flow, Dispersive Waves, Reaction Diffusion, Multiphase Waves, Nonlinear Optics, Caustics, Hydrodynamic Stability, Critical Layers
Hagstrom, Thomas M.     thagstrom@smu.edu       214-768-4338 Website

Professor

Ph.D., California Institute of Technology

Kim, Seungil     kims@smu.edu       214-768-1779 Website

Visiting Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Texas A & M University

Melander, Mogens V.     melander@smu.edu       214-768-2115 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Technical University of Denmark

Newell, Judy     jnewell@smu.edu       214-768-3243 Website

Lecturer

M.S., Southern Methodist University

Norris, Scott     snorris@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D.,Northwestern 2006

Reinelt, Douglas A.     reinelt@smu.edu       214-768-2506 Website

Professor

Ph.D., California Institute of Technology

Research Interests: Perturbation Analysis, Fluid Dynamics, Coating Flows, Foam Rheology
Reynolds, Daniel R.     reynolds@smu.edu       214-768-4339 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Rice University

Research Interests: Applied Mathematics, Computational Models, Modeling, Robust Numerical Methods, Supercomputer Hardware
Seets, Carol Sue     cseets@smu.edu       214-768-1886 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of Texas at Dallas

Shuey, Deborah     dshuey@smu.edu       214-768-2452
Administrative Assistant II


Stigler, Brandilyn S.     bstigler@smu.edu       214-768-2514 Website

David Starr Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Ph.D., Virginia Tech

Research Interests: Mathematical Framework, Groebner Basis Techniques, Computational Commutative Algebra, Computational Biology, Biochemical Networks, Algorithms
Tausch, Johannes     tausch@smu.edu       214-768-2515 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Colorado State University

Research Interests: Boundary Element Methods, Numerical Analysis
Williams, Richard K.     richardw@smu.edu       214-768-3262 Website

Professor

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Research Interests: Complex Analysis, Topology
Xu, Sheng     sxu@smu.edu       214-768-2985 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University

Research Interests: Scientific Computation, Fluid Dynamics, Fluid Flow, Hypersonic Turbulence, Supersonic
Zhou, Yunkai     yzhou@smu.edu       214-768-2512 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Rice University

Research Interests: Scientific Computation, Numerical Linear Algebra, Interdisciplinary Research, Optimization, Data Mining, Information Storage and Retrieval, Software Development