Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within History

Adams, Jeremy     jadams@smu.edu       214-768-2969 Website

Professor

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: Medieval Europe
Ates, Sabri     sates@smu.edu       214-768-2968 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., New York University

Research Interests: Borderlands, Iran, Middle East, Ottoman
Chavez, John R.     jchavez@smu.edu       214-768-2975 Website

Professor

Director of Graduate Studies in History

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Mexican American, Mexican History, Southwest United States
Countryman, Edward F.     ecountry@smu.edu       214-768-2907 Website

University Distinguished Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University

Research Interests: Colonial Latin America, Early American History, American Revolution
DeLuzio, Crista J.     cdeluzio@smu.edu       214-768-3748 Website

Associate Professor

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies in History

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: Women's History, 19th Century United States, 20th Century United States
Dowling, Melissa Barden     mdowling@smu.edu       214-768-2976 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Columbia University

Research Interests: Greece, Rome
Doyle, David     ddoyle@smu.edu       214-768-2813
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Director of University Honors Program

Ph.D., City Univeristy of New York

Research Interests: Sexuality, Gender
Halperin, Rick     rhalperi@smu.edu       214-768-3284

Adjunct Lecturer

Professor of the Practice of Human Rights

Director of the Human Rights Education Program

Auburn University, Alabama

Research Interests: Human Rights, Antebellum U.S. South
Hamilton, Andrea     andreah@smu.edu       214-768-3808

Adjunct Lecturer

Tulane University

Hamilton, Kenneth M.     kmarvin@smu.edu       214-768-3598 Website

Associate Professor

Director of Ethnic Studies

Ph.D., Washington University

Research Interests: , 19th Century United States, African American
Hochman, Erin     ehochman@smu.edu       214-768-3971 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Toronto

Hopkins, James K.     hopkins@smu.edu       214-768-2977 Website

Professor

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: European Social, Modern Britain
Knock, Thomas J.     tknock@smu.edu       214-768-2972 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Princeton University

Research Interests: Foreign Relations, 20th Century United States, Film, Popular Culture
McCrossen, Alexis M.     amccross@smu.edu       214-768-3676 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: Social History, Cultural History
Mears, John A.     jmears@smu.edu       214-768-2974 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Moin, Azfar     amoin@smu.edu       214-768-2980 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Michigan Ann Arbor

Orlovsky, Daniel T.     dorlovsk@smu.edu       214-768-3746 Website

Professor, George Bouhe Research Fellow in Russian Studies

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: , Russian Provisional Government, Soviet Union
Pierson, Sharron     sharron@smu.edu       214-768-2984

Staff

Pinkston, Mildred     mpinksto@smu.edu       214-768-2967

Staff

Righter, Robert     robert.righter@sbcglobal

Research Professor

Ph.D., University of California

Shiao, Ling A.     lshiao@smu.edu       214-768-3683 Website

Assistant Professor

M.A., Pennsylvania State University

Research Interests: Chinese Communism, Chinese Intellectual and Cultural History, Chinese Society, Gender and Chinese Society
Siegle, Clive     csiegle@smu.edu

Adjunct Lecturer

Southern Methodist University

Smith, Sherry L.     sherrys@smu.edu       214-768-1312 Website

University Distinguished Professor and Associate Director of the Clements Center for Southwest Studies

Ph.D., University of Washington

Research Interests: American West, Native American Indians
Tsutsui, William    

Dean, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Ph.D. History, Princeton University (1995); M.A. History, Princeton University (1990); M.Litt, History, Oxford University (1988); A.B. East Asian Studies, Harvard University (1985)

Research Interests: Business History of 20th Century Japan, Economic History of 20th Century Japan, Environmental, Popular Culture, Japanese Environment during World War II, History of the Visual Arts on the Great Plains
Wellman, Kathleen A.     kwellman@smu.edu       214-768-2967 Website

Professor

Chair of the History Department

Dedman Family Distinguished Professor

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Research Interests: Early Modern European History, Renaissaince Queens, Intellectual, France