Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within English

Arbery, Joan     jarbery@smu.edu       214-768-2463
Visiting Lecturer 


Ph.D. Candidate, University of Notre Dame

Ards, Angela     aards@smu.edu       214-768-9197 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Princeton University

Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature, African American Literature
Barry-Seaney, Ona     oseaney@smu.edu Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of New Mexico

Bozorth, Richard R.     rbozorth@smu.edu       214-768-4365 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Research Interests: British Modernism, Gay and Lesbian Studies
Bradley, Jaqueline     jbradle@smu.edu       214-768-2960 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Brininstool, Andrew     brininstool@smu.edu       214-768-1162 Website

Adjunct

University of Houston

Brownderville, Greg     Website

Assistant Professor

Cassedy, Tim     tcassedy@smu.edu Website
Assistant Professor
Channell, Carolyn E.     cchannel@smu.edu       214-768-3682 Website

Senior Lecturer

M.A., Case Western Reserve University

Research Interests: Rhetoric
Crusius, Timothy W.     tcrusius@smu.edu       214-768-4363 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Southern California

Research Interests: Modern Rhetorical Theory
Diaconoff, Cara     cdiaconoff@smu.edu       214-768-2950

Visiting Professor

Dickson-Carr, Darryl Byron     dcarr@smu.edu       214-768-2215 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Santa Barbara

Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature, Minority Literature
Duarte, Susana     sduarte@smu.edu       214-768-2981

Administrative Assistant

Dumitrescu, Irina     idumitrescu@smu.edu       214-768-3078 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Yale University

Dwelle, Elizabeth A.     edwelle@smu.edu       214-768-1315 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of North Texas

Foster, Dennis A.     dfoster@smu.edu       214-768-2921 Website

Professor, Daisy Dean Frensley Chair in English Literature

Ph.D., University of California at Irvine

Research Interests: Contemporary Fiction, Critical Theory
Gibson, Lee     lgibson@smu.edu       214-768-4253

Writing Center Coordinator

Goyne, Jo     jgoyne@smu.edu       214-768-2388 Website

Senior Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Greenspan, Ezra     egreensp@smu.edu       214-768-2946 Website

Professor, Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Chair in Humanities

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature, 19th Century United States
Grumbles, Diana     dgrumble@smu.edu

Senior Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Hall, Shirley Alane     alaneh@smu.edu       214-768-2954 Website

Adjunct

Harvell, Marta K.     mharvell@smu.edu       214-768-3952 Website

Lecturer

M.A., University of North Texas

Haynes, David     dhaynes@smu.edu       214-768-3561 Website

Associate Professor

M.A., Hamline University

Research Interests: Class, Gender, Race, Generation Differences
Hodge, Nancy     nhodge@smu.edu Website
Adjunct


Holahan, Michael N.     mholahan@smu.edu       214-768-2872 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: English Renaissance, Shakespeare, Classical Literature
Hopper, Vanessa     vhopper@smu.edu       214-768-2962 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University Rice University Publishing Program

Howard, Diana Kay     dkhoward@smu.edu       214-768-2956 Website

Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Diaconoff, Cara     cdiaconoff@smu.edu       214-768-2950

Visiting Professor

Knight, Harold A.     haknight@smu.edu       214-768-2612 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Iowa

Lange, Pamela S.     plange@smu.edu       214-768-2383 Website

Senior Lecturer

M.A., Southern Methodist University

Levy, Bruce E.     blevy@smu.edu       214-768-2505 Website

Senior Lecturer; Director

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: American Studies, Community Based Education
Moss, Daniel D.     dmoss@smu.edu       214-768-2297 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Princeton University

Research Interests: Literary Imitation, Classical Tradition, 16th Century Poetry, 17th Century Poetry
Murfin, Ross C.     rmurfin@smu.edu       214-768-4800 Website

Professor, E.A. Lilly Distinguished Professor of English Literature

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Research Interests: 19th Century British Literature, 20th Century American Literature, Critical Theory
Neel, Jasper     neel@smu.edu       214-768-3299 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Tennessee

Research Interests: Rhetoric, Rhetorical Theory, History of Criticism, Canon Formation, 17th Century British Literature
Newman, Beth S.     bnewman@smu.edu       214-768-2955 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University

Research Interests: 19th Century British Literature, Women and Gender Studies
Newton, Pauline T.     pnewton@smu.edu       214-768-1956 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Tulsa

Pisano, Patricia     ppisano@smu.edu       214-768-2409 Website

Adjunct

Univeristy of Cincinnati

Reid, Leslie     lereid@smu.edu       214-768-2946 Website

Administrative Assistant

Rosendale, Timothy     trosenda@smu.edu       214-768-2180 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Northwestern University

Sae-Saue, Jayson     jsaesaue@smu.edu Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Stanford 2010

Satz, Martha     msatz@smu.edu       214-768-2855 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Research Interests: 19th Century British Literature, Minority Literature
Schwartz, Nina E.     nschwart@smu.edu       214-768-3770 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of California at Irvine

Siraganian, Lisa M.     lsiragan@smu.edu       214-768-2982 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature, Critical Theory
Smith, Charles W.     cwsmith@smu.edu       214-768-2957 Website

Professor

M.A., Northern Illinois University

Research Interests: Creative Writing, Fiction, Film
Spiegelman, Willard L.     wspiegel@smu.edu       214-768-2535 Website

Professor, Dwaine E. Hughes, Jr., Distinguished Chair in English

Ph.D., Harvard University

Research Interests: 20th Century Poetry, British Romantic Literature
Nancy, Srebro     nsrebro@smu.edu       214-768-4056 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Amsel, Stephanie     samsel@smu.edu       (214) 768-2835 Website

Lecturer in English

BBA, University of Texas at Austin; MA and PhD, University of Texas at San Antonio

Stephens, Lori Ann     loris@smu.edu       214-768-4375 Website

Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Stone, Tom E.     tstone@smu.edu       214-768-2963 Website

Senior Lecturer

Ph.D., University of Denver

Sudan, Rajani     rsudan@smu.edu       214-768-2062 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University

Research Interests: 18th Century British Literature, Colonial Literature, Post-Colonial Literature
Swann, Marjorie     mswann@smu.edu       214-768-7882 Website

Associate Professor

D. Phil., Oxford

Research Interests: Art Collecting in Kansas and the Great Plains, History of Visual Arts, Renaissance Material Culture
Weisenburger, Steven     sweisenb@smu.edu       214-768-2897 Website

Professor, Jacob and Frances Mossiker Chair in Humanities

Ph.D., University of Washington

Research Interests: African American Literature, Cultural History, Satire, White Supremacy
Wheeler, Bonnie     bwheeler@smu.edu       214-768-2949 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: , Medieval, Arthurian, Chaucer
Wheeler, John     jwheeler@smu.edu       214-768-1129

English as a Second Language

M.A/M.M., University of Michigan at Ann Arbor