Faculty and Staff

Directory

This list of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences faculty and staff members may be viewed either alphabetically or by department.

Faculty and Staff Within Anthropology

Adler, Michael     madler@smu.edu       214-768-2940 Website

Associate Professor, Director of SMU in Taos

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Archaeology, Community Organization, Southwest United States, Land Tenure, Resources Access, Computer Applications, Regional Settlement Systems
Bing, Eric G.     ebing@smu.edu       214-768-2933 Website

Professor of Global Health

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Brettell, Caroline B.     cbrettel@smu.edu       214-768-4254 Website

Ruth Collins Altschuler Professor and Director of the Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Ph.D., Brown University

Research Interests: Anthropology, Europe, India
Callaghan, Michael     mcallaghan@smu.edu       214-768-1194 Website

Visiting Assistant Professor  


P.h.D Vanderbilt University

Eiselt, Sunday B.     seiselt@smu.edu       214-768-2915 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Archaeology, Southwest United States
Hogan, Pamela     phogan@smu.edu       214-768-4152 Website

Administrative Assistant II

B.A., Southern Methodist University

Hollenback, Kacy     khollenback@smu.edu       214-768-2943 Website

Professor in Practice

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Kovacevich, Brigitte     kovacevich@smu.edu       214-768-3542 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Research Interests: Archaeology of Meso America
Lockwood, Victoria S.     vlockwoo@smu.edu       214-768-4022 Website

Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

Ph.D., University of California at Los Angeles

Research Interests: Political Economy, Gender, Sexuality, Economic Anthropology, Oceania
Lupo, Karen     Website
Chair, Department of Anthropology
Meltzer, David J.     dmeltzer@smu.edu       214-768-2826
Henderson-Morrison Professor of Prehistory

Ph.D., University of Washington

Department: Anthropology

Parson, Nia C.     nparson@smu.edu       214-768-2932 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Rutgers University

Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, Gender, South America
Phinney, John     jphinney@smu.edu       214-768-2430

Adjunct

Powell, Tiffany     tapowell@smu.edu       214-768-2684

Administrative Assistant I

Roos, Christopher     croos@smu.edu       214-768-2753 Website

Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Research Interests: Fire Ecology, Dendrochronology, Geoarchaeology, Paleoecology
Smith-Morris, Carolyn     smithmor@smu.edu       214-768-2878 Website

Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D., University of Arizona at Tucson

Research Interests: Medical Anthropology, Chronic disease, especially diabetes and diseases of development, Mexican Migrants, Native Americans, U.S., Mexico
Wallace, Ben J.     bwallace@smu.edu       214-768-2930 Website

Professor

University of Wisconsin at Madison

Research Interests: Ecology, Southeast Asia, Economic Change, Social Change, Developmental Anthropology
Wetherington, Ronald K.     rwetheri@smu.edu       214-768-2927 Website

Professor

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Physical Anthropology, Genetics, Evolutionary Theroy, Skeletal Growth, Southwest United States, Forensic Anthropology
Wilson, David J.     dwilson@smu.edu       214-768-3545 Website

Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Archaeology, South America