Calendars

SMU Main Quad and Dallas Hall

2017-2018 Academic Calendar

Fall Term 2017

Module A – Fall 2017

August 18, Friday Last day to withdraw from the term (drop all classes) with full refund
August 21, Monday First day of Module A
August 25, Friday Last day to late enroll or add/drop/swap courses for Fall Module A without penalty
September 1, Friday
Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply) / withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies)
September 2, Saturday No classes held - Make-up schedule coming soon
September 4, Monday University Holiday (no classes held)
October 6, Friday Last day to drop Module A course with a grade of W (no refund)
October 7, Saturday Last day of class instruction for Module A
October 9 - 14, Monday - Saturday Exams for Module A
October 10 - 17, Tuesday - Tuesday Grades posted by instructors

Module B – Fall 2017

October 16, Monday First day of Module B
October 20, Friday Last day to add/drop/swap for Fall Module B courses
October 27, Friday Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply) / withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies)
November 22, Wednesday No classes held - Make-up schedule coming soon
November 23, Thursday University holiday (no classes held)
November 25, Saturday No classes held - Make-up schedule coming soon
December 1, Friday Last day to drop a Module B course with a grade of W (no refund)
December 2, Saturday Last day of class instruction for Module B
December 4 - 9, Monday - Saturday Exams for Module B 
December 5 - 12, Tuesday - Tuesday Grades posted by instructors
December 16, Saturday Graduation ceremony for August and December Graduates (tentatively a morning ceremony)
December 11 - January 6 Winter break

Spring Term 2018

Module A – Spring 2018

January 5, Friday Last day to withdraw from the term (drop all classes) with full refund
January 8, Monday First day of Module A
January 12, Friday Last day to late enroll or add/drop/swap courses for Spring Module A without penalty
January 15, Monday
University Holiday - no classes. Make-up schedule coming soon.
January 22, Monday Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply) / withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies)
February 23, Friday Last day to drop Module A course with a grade of W (no refund)
February 24, Saturday Last day of instruction for Module A
February 26 - March 3, Monday - Saturday Exams for Module A
February 27 - March 6, Tuesday - Tuesday Grades posted by instructors
March 5 - 10, Monday - Saturday Graduate Cox Spring Break

Module B – Spring 2018

March 12, Monday First day of Module B
March 16, Friday Last day to late enroll of add/drop/swap for Spring Module B courses
March 23, Friday Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply) / withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies)
March 30, Friday University holiday (No classes held) - Make-up schedule coming soon
March 31, Saturday No classes held - Make-up schedule coming soon
April 27, Friday Last day to withdraw for the term or drop a Module B course with a grade of W (no refund)
April 28, Saturday Last day of instruction for Module B
April 30 - May 5, Monday - Saturday Exams for Module B 
May 1 - 8, Tuesday - Tuesday Grades posted by instructors
May 19, Saturday Commencement - Cox ceremony in the afternoon (no classes held)

Summer Term 2018

Module A – Summer 2018

May 4, Friday  Last day to withdraw from the term (drop all classes) with full refund 
May 7, Monday   First day of Module A
May 9, Wednesday  Last day to late enroll or add/drop courses for Summer Modules A without penalty 
May 19, Saturday
Commencement - Cox Ceremony in mid-afternoon (no classes held)
May 26, Saturday  No classes held 
May 28, Monday   University Holiday – Memorial Day (no classes held)  - Make-up schedule coming soon
June 15, Friday  Last day to drop Module A course with a grade of W (no refund) 
June 16, Saturday  Last day of class instruction for Module A 
June 18 - 23, Monday - Saturday  Exams for Module A 
June 19 - 26, Tuesday - Tuesday  Grades posted by instructors 

Module B – Summer 2018

June 25, Monday  First day of Module B  
June 27, Wednesday  Last day to add/drop/swap for Summer Module B 
July 4, Wednesday  University holiday (no classes held)
August 3, Friday  Last day to withdraw for the term or drop a Module B course with a grade of W (no refund) 
August 4, Saturday  Last day of class instruction 
August 6-11, Monday-Saturday  Exams for Module B 
August 7-14, Tuesday-Tuesday  Grades posted by instructors 
August 17, Friday (tentative)   Degree conferral date for August graduates 
August 13 - 18, Monday - Saturday  Summer Break 

Fall and Spring Terms Class Times 

Day-time Class Times  9:30 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.; 2:00 p.m. - 4:50 p.m. (8 class sessions, week is Monday-Saturday) 
Day-time required core class times 
9:30 a.m. - 10:50 a.m.; 11:00 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.; 2:00 p.m. - 3:20 p.m.; 3:30 p.m. - 4:50 p.m.
(meet twice a week for a total of 16 class sessions)  
Evening Class Times
6:30 p.m. - 9:20 p.m. (8 class sessions)
Saturday Class Time
9:00 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. (8 sessions)
If holiday occurs on a Saturday, then Elective Course Class Time

9:00 a.m. - 12:20 p.m. (7 class sessions)

Full-Time MBA and MS students attend classes in the fall and spring terms. The summer term between the first and second year of the Full-Time MBA program is devoted to the required corporate internship. Professional MBA and Fast-Track MBA students attend in the summer as well. The Academic Calendars include beginning and ending dates for each module and term as well as add/drop deadlines, holidays, and make-up days. For your additional reference the class times are noted below.