Give Now

Annual Green Minute Video Contest

Annual Green Minute Video Contest

Each fall, SMU's Sustainability Committee sponsors the Green-Minute Video contest.  The contest challenges students to produce a fun, one-minute video that encourages sustainable behavior on the Hilltop.

The rules for the "students only" contest are simple: 

  • give the mini-movie a "G" rating
  • keep it under a minute
  • use just about anything that shoots video – including a phone
  • submit your movie to in .mov, .mp4 or .wmv format

Students may focus on any sustainability topic they choose, but the committee offers these suggestions as a starting point:

  • Reducing your personal carbon footprint
  • Using public transportation instead of driving
  • Buying from green producers
  • Turning off lights
  • Printing fewer paper products
  • Promoting sustainability research on campus

The Sustainability Committee is a group of faculty, students and staff who promote sustainability and increased environmental awareness on campus. Any questions about the contest should be directed to Kevin L. Dilliard at

Previous Winning Videos

2012 Winner: Nicole Gawor

2011 Winner: Lance Barnard

2010 Winner: Erin Hedrick

2009 Winner: Aleksandra Gawor