Give Now

SMU Facts

SMU Facts

Intercollegiate Athletics

American Athletic Conference

SMU competes in the American Athletic Conference at the highest level of intercollegiate athletics- Division 1, Football Bowl Subdivision. SMU sponsors 17 sports for men and women.

Ranking and Recognition

In the 2015-2016 season, SMU had nine All-Americans, one Freshman All-American, seven AAC Players of the Year, two AAC Newcomers of the Year, 67 All-Conference award winners and three AAC Coaches of the Year.

Postseason Play

As of May 1, 2016, eight SMU teams had finished in the top three of their respective sports and reached the postseason. SMU has won three AAC titles in the 2015-16 season, and since 2013-14 has won nine AAC Championships, tying with the University of Connecticut for the most in the conference.


Following extensive renovation and expansion, Moody Coliseum provides outstanding facilities for mens and womens basketball and womens volleyball teams, as well as academic ceremonies and other uses. A new tennis complex with indoor and outdoor courts opened in 2015.