Faculty Senate Resolution in Commemoration of the Centennial of the Opening of SMU

Whereas one hundred years ago Southern Methodist University opened as Dallas' university with two permanent buildings, 456 students, 37 faculty members, and a curriculum focused on liberal arts, theology, and music; and,

Whereas the founding of the University in 1911 was the result of a fruitful collaboration between the citizens of Dallas and the leadership of the Methodist Church, the commitment of both continuing to the present day; and

Whereas Dr. Robert Stewart Hyer, a research scientist and educator and SMU's founding president, had the vision to build Dallas Hall and embrace a broad perspective on education; and

Whereas the first core faculty to the current faculty has dedicated itself to providing academic programs of the highest quality in the classroom, laboratory, and other educational settings; and,

Whereas through a partnership among faculty, administration, and the local community, SMU has developed into an institution of high national ranking.

Therefore be it resolved, that on the occasion of the centennial of the opening of Southern Methodist University the Faculty Senate hereby commends all students, faculty, administrators, staff, alumni (alumnae), and other supporters for their notable achievement in developing SMU into the strong institution it is today.