

## For Immediate Release July 21, 2021

## 2021 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

**DALLAS** - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released today the preseason candidates for the 2021 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

The list features 2020 Doak Walker Award finalist Breece Hall from Iowa State. Last season as a sophomore, Hall led the nation in total rushing yards with 1,572 and was a first-team All-America selection. 2020 Doak Walker Award semifinalists Mohammed Ibrahim (Minnesota), Sincere McCormick (UTSA), Isaiah Spiller (Texas A&M) and Kyren Williams (Notre Dame) are all among the list of preseason candidates.

University athletic departments nominate candidates for the award and can continue to do so through October. The complete list of candidates is below.

Tyler Allgeier (So.), BYU Christian Beal-Smith (Jr.), Wake Forest Ulysses Bentley, IV (So.), SMU Jalen Berger (Fr.), Wisconsin Tank Bigsby (So.), Auburn Darius Boone (Fr.), Eastern Michigan Max Borghi (Sr.), Washington State Kennedy Brooks (Jr.), Oklahoma Shamari Brooks (Sr.), Tulsa Jarek Broussard (So.), Colorado Chase Brown (So.), Illinois LD Brown (Sr.), Oklahoma State Leddie Brown (Sr.), West Virginia Noah Cain (Jr.), Penn State Mulbah Car (Sr.), Houston Stephen Carr (Sr.), Indiana Cameron Carroll (So.), Tulane Ty Chandler (Sr.), North Carolina Destin Coates (Jr.), Georgia State James Cook (Sr.), Georgia Jashaun Corbin (So.), Florida State ReMahn Davis (Jr.), Vanderbilt Lyn-J Dixon (Sr.), Clemson Mataeo Durant (Sr.), Duke Jerrion Ealy (Jr.), Ole Miss Zach Evans (So.), TCU Tayon Fleet-Davis (Sr.), Maryland Alex Fontenot (Jr.). Colorado Jahmyr Gibbs (Fr.), Georgia Tech Tyler Goodson (Jr.), Iowa

Frank Gore, Jr. (So.), Southern Miss Eric Gray (Jr.), Oklahoma Breece Hall (Jr.), Iowa State Kevin Harris (Jr.), South Carolina Rahjai Harris (So.), East Carolina George Holani (So.), Boise State Mohamed Ibrahim (Sr.), Minnesota Keaontay Ingram (Sr.), USC Dillon Johnson (So.), Mississippi State Austin Jones (Jr.), Stanford JD King (Sr.), Georgia Southern Zonovan Knight (Jr.), NC State Bryant Koback (Jr.), Toledo Keyvone Lee (So.), Penn State Kobe Lewis (Jr.), Central Michigan John Lovett (Sr.), Penn State Vavae Malepeai (Sr.), USC Joquavious Marks (So.), Mississippi State Kevin Marks (Sr.), Buffalo Jordan Mason (Jr.), Georgia Tech DeWayne McBride (So.), UAB Sincere McCormick (Jr.), UTSA Sean McGew (Sr.), Washington Jalen Mitchell (Fr.), Louisville Marcel Murray (Jr.), Arkansas State Lew Nichols (Fr.), Central Michigan Camerun Peoples (Jr.), Appalachian State Cam Porter (So.), Northwestern

D'Vonte Price (Sr.), FIU Deneric Prince (Jr.), Tulsa Ronnie Rivers (Sr.), Fresno State Bijan Robinson (So.), Texas Brian Robinson, Jr. (Sr.), Alabama Chris Rodriguez, Jr. (Jr.), Kentucky Jabari Small (So.), Tennessee Chris Smith (So.), Louisiana Trelon Smith (Jr.), Arkansas Isaiah Spiller (Jr.), Texas A&M Brock Sturges (Jr.), Texas State SaRodorick Thompson (Jr.), Texas Tech Lawrance Toafili (Fr.), Florida State DeaMonte Trayanum (Fr.), Arizona State Sean Tucker (So.), Syracuse Calvin Turner, Jr. (Sr.), Hawaii Xazavian Valladay (Jr.), Wyoming Deuce Vaughn (So.), Kansas State Kimani Vidal (Fr.), Troy Kenneth Walker, III (Jr.), Michigan State Harrison Waylee (Fr.), Northern Illinois Rachaad White (Jr.), Arizona State Zamir White (Jr.), Georgia Michael Wiley (Jr.), Arizona Kyren Williams (So.), Notre Dame Logan Wright (Sr.), Georgia Southern

## 2021 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement Page 2

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2020 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards*.

The award is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 32 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fourteen of the association's 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the complete 2021 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 19: Bednarik Award. Maxwell Award Tuesday July 20: Davey O'Brien Award Wednesday July 21: Doak Walker Award Thursday July 22: Biletnikoff Award Friday July 23: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy Monday July 26: Butkus Award & Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Tuesday July 27: Bronko Nagurski Trophy & Outland Trophy Wednesday July 28: Lou Groza Award & Ray Guy Award Thursday July 29: Paul Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy Friday July 30: Walter Camp Award

> -doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-