



For Immediate Release July 18, 2018

2018 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released today the preseason candidates for the 2018 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

2017 Doak Walker Award Recipient Bryce Love from Stanford headlines the crop of preseason candidates. Love, the nation's leading returning rusher, established an FBS record with 13 carries of 50 yards or more in 2017. The list also features 2017 Doak Walker Award Finalist Jonathan Taylor from Wisconsin, and semifinalists Justice Hill from Oklahoma State and Devin Singletary from Florida Atlantic.

University athletic departments nominate candidates for the award and can continue to do so through October. The complete list of candidates is below.

Cam Akers (So.), Florida State Darius Anderson (Jr.), TCU Rodney Anderson (Jr.), Oklahoma Ryquell Armstead (Sr.), Temple Alex Barnes (Jr.), Kansas State LeVante Bellamy (Jr.), Western Michigan Eno Benjamin (So.), Arizona State KirVonte Benson (Jr.), Georgia Tech Jamauri Bogan (Sr.), Western Michigan Shamari Brooks (So.), Tulsa Tony Brooks-James (Sr.), Oregon Brittain Brown (So.), Duke Spencer Brown (So.), UAB Squally Canada (Sr.), BYU Stephen Carr (So.), USC Michael Carter (So.), North Carolina Andrew Clair (So.), Bowling Green Matt Colburn, II (Sr.), Wake Forest Jeremy Cox (Sr.), Old Dominion Damarea Crockett (Jr.), Missouri

AJ Dillon (So.), Boston College J.K. Dobbins (So.), Ohio State Rico Dowdle (Jr.), South Carolina Ian Eriksen (Sr.), Eastern Michigan Travis Etienne (So.), Clemson Wesley Fields (Sr.), Georgia Southern Myles Gaskin (Sr.), Washington Darrin Hall (Sr.), Pittsburgh Damien Harris (Sr.), Alabama Chase Hayden (So.), Arkansas Darrell Henderson (Jr.), Memphis Karan Higdon (Sr.), Michigan Justice Hill (Jr.), Oklahoma State Travis Homer (Jr.), Miami Xavier Jones (Jr.), SMU Patrick Laird (Sr.), Cal Jeremy Larkin (Jr.), Northwestern Bryce Love (Sr.), Stanford Izzy Matthews (Sr.), Colorado State Alexander Mattison (Jr.), Boise State David Montgomery (Jr.), Iowa State Jalin Moore (Sr.), Appalachian State

Kelton Moore (Jr), Nevada Zack Moss (Jr.), Utah Jacques Patrick (Sr.), Florida State Emmanuel Reed (Jr.), Buffalo Miles Sanders (Jr.), Penn State LJ Scott (Sr.), Michigan State Devin Singletary (Jr.), Florida Atlantic Rodney Smith (Sr.), Minnesota Benny Snell (Jr.), Kentucky D'Andre Swift (So.), Georgia J.J. Taylor (So.), Arizona Jonathan Taylor (So.), Wisconsin Lexington Thomas (Sr.), UNLV Tavares Thomas (Sr.), Mid Tennessee Warren Wand (Sr.), Arkansas State Da'Leon Ward (So.), Texas Tech Devwah Whaley (Jr.), Arkansas Aeris Williams (Sr.), Mississippi State Trayveon Williams (Jr.), Texas A&M Kenny Young (Sr.), Miami (Ohio) Marquis Young (Sr.), Massachusetts

2018 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement

Page 2

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced on November 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2018 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 6 on ESPN.

The award, which will name its 29th recipient in 2018, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

###

Honoring the legends of sports for 29 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 24 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Seventeen of the association's 24 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the entire 2018 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 16: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tuesday July 17: Davey O'Brien Award
Wednesday July 18: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 19: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 20: Mackey Award & Rimington Award
Monday July 23: Thorpe Award & Butkus Award
Tuesday July 24: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 25: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 26: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 27: Walter Camp Award

-doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-