

For Immediate Release December 6, 2018

Jonathan Taylor Named 2018 Doak Walker Award Recipient

ATLANTA – Jonathan Taylor of Wisconsin was named the 2018 Doak Walker Award Recipient, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday at *The Home Depot College Football Awards* from the College Football Hall of Fame.

Taylor, a junior from Salem, New Jersey, led the nation in rushing this season averaging 165.8 yards per game and running for 1,989 yards. He rushed for at least 100 yards in 11 games, and his season best 321 rushing yards lead the Badgers to a triple overtime victory over Purdue on November 17.

With his selection, Taylor becomes the fourth Doak Walker Award recipient from Wisconsin joining Melvin Gordon (2014), Montee Ball (2012) and Ron Dayne (1999). Taylor, who was a finalist for the Doak Walker Award in 2017, is the fourth player in FBS history to rush for over 1,900 yards in back-to-back seasons. His 3,966 career rushing yards are the most by an FBS running back through his sophomore season surpassing Roy Dayne (3,566) and Herschel Walker (3,507). Dayne and Walker are the only other players to surpass 3,500 rushing yards through their sophomore seasons; Walker, the 2016 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient, announced Taylor as the recipient this evening.

Taylor will receive the award at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Friday, February 8, 2019, in Dallas. Johnny Robinson, the 2018 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient, will also be honored at the banquet.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The recipient of the Doak Walker Award is chosen by a National Selection Committee comprised of members of the media and former players.

Honoring the legends of sports for 29 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which includes college football's most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 24 awards boast 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about the NCFAA.

The Home Depot College Football Awards air from the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Live on ESPN on December 6, 2018, college football's brightest stars are honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward

