Contact: Jeff Lockhart (214) 768-4314 lockhart@smu.edu



For Immediate Release November 20, 2017

Saquon Barkley, Bryce Love and Jonathan Taylor Named 2017 Doak Walker Award Finalists

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum today announced **Saquon Barkley** of Penn State, **Bryce Love** of Stanford and **Jonathan Taylor** of Wisconsin as finalists for the 2017 Doak Walker Award. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee ranked the semifinalists to determine the finalists.

The Committee will cast a second ballot after the completion of the regular season and conference championship games to determine the recipient of the 2017 Doak Walker Award. The recipient will be announced live on ESPN during *The Home Depot College Football Awards* airing from the College Football Hall of Fame in downtown Atlanta on Thursday, December 7, at 7 p.m. (ET). The award will be presented at the 2017 Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet in Dallas on Friday, February 16, 2018.

Barkley, a junior from Whitehall, Pennsylvania, ranks second nationally with 2,070 all-purpose yards. He has scored 19 touchdowns this season, the fourth best in the nation. Barkley was a semifinalist for the award a year ago and is the FBS active leader in all-purpose yards per game with 146.2.

Love, a junior from Wake Forest, North Carolina, leads the NCAA in rushing yards per game (172.3). Despite missing a game, Love ranks second nationally in total rushing yards (1,723). He has rushed for over 150 yards seven times this season, including a 301-yard output against Arizona St. on Sept. 30.

Taylor, a freshman from Salem, New Jersey leads the Big 10 and ranks third nationally in total rushing yards (1,657) and rushing yards per game (150.6). Taylor has eclipsed the 200-yard mark on three occasions this season including a 249-yard performance against Nebraska on Oct. 7.

-more-

In addition to outstanding performance on the field, candidates for the Doak Walker Award must have demonstrated records of leadership and exhibited the characteristics of sportsmanship and fair play associated with Doak Walker.

The award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. The versatile Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships and brought the school into the national spotlight. Walker was drafted by the Detroit Lions and as a rookie led the league in scoring. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

###

Honoring the legends of sports for 28 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 24 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The Home Depot College Football Awards air from the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Live on ESPN on December 7, 2017, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward

