

For Immediate Release February 13, 2018

Contact: Jeff Lockhart (214) 768-4314

lockhart@smu.edu

Bryce Love and Johnny Majors to be honored at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum will honor Bryce Love as the 2017 Doak Walker Award recipient and Johnny Majors as the 2017 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Friday, February 16, 2018 in Dallas.

Love, a junior at Stanford University, joins 2009 Doak Walker Award recipient Toby Gerhart as the only recipients from Stanford. Love recently surpassed Gerhart and 2015 Doak Walker Award finalist Christian McCaffrey and moved into first place on the Stanford single-season rushing list. Love will forego the 2018 NFL draft and return to Stanford for his senior season.

Majors was two-time SEC Player of the Year while at Tennessee, and the triple-threat tailback led the Volunteers to ten consecutive victories in 1956. Majors went on to become a successful collegiate head coach, leading Pittsburgh to the 1976 National Title and his alma mater to SEC titles in 1985, 1989 and 1990. Majors joins an impressive list of recent past recipients: Herschel Walker (2016), Barry Sanders (2015), Bo Jackson (2014), Floyd Little (2013), and Jim Brown (2012).

Doak Walker epitomized leadership, sportsmanship, and academic and athletic achievement during his outstanding career at SMU. Walker was a three-time All-America choice who won the Heisman Trophy as a junior in 1948, was a first round draft pick of the Detroit Lions, led the team to NFL championships in 1952 and 1953, and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Honoring the legends of sports for 28 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 24 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.