

## For Immediate Release November 16, 2016

## 2016 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists Announced

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today 10 semifinalists for the 2016 Doak Walker Award. The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Saquon Barkley (So.)	Penn State	Aaron Jones (Jr.)	UTEP
Dalvin Cook (Jr.)	Florida State	Christian McCaffrey (Jr.)	Stanford
D'Onta Foreman (Jr.)	Texas	Jeremy McNichols (Jr.)	<b>Boise State</b>
<b>Leonard Fournette (Jr.)</b>	LSU	Kamryn Pettway (So.)	Auburn
Brian Hill (Jr.)	Wyoming	Donnel Pumphrey (Sr.)	San Diego State

To determine the 2016 finalists, members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes after this week's games. Three finalists for the award will be named Tuesday, November 22. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast a second vote to select the 2016 award recipient. The 2016 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 8 on ESPN.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

###

Honoring the legends of sports for 27 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The Home Depot College Football Awards air from the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Live on ESPN on December 8, 2016, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward