Contact: Jeff Lockhart (214) 768-4314 lockhart@smu.edu



For Immediate Release December 8, 2016

D'Onta Foreman Named 2016 Doak Walker Award Recipient

ATLANTA – D'Onta Foreman of Texas was named the 2016 Doak Walker Award Recipient, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday at the *Home Depot College Football Awards* from the College Football Hall of Fame.

Foreman, a junior from Texas City, Texas, is the nation's leader in total rushing yards with 2,028 despite playing in just 11 games. His NCAA-leading mark of 184.4 yards per game is nearly 30 yards per game better than the rest of the country. Foreman is just the 28th running back to amass at least 2,000 yards and his per-game average is 10th best in NCAA history.

With his selection, Foreman joins 1997 and 1998 Doak Walker Award recipient Ricky Williams and 2004 recipient Cedric Benson as recipients from the University of Texas. Benson was also the last Big 12 running back to claim the award.

During the 2016 season, Foreman rushed for at least 100 yards in every game and racked up 13-straight 100-yard performances dating back to the 2015 season. He had three 200+ yard games in 2016, including a season-best 341-yard outburst on Nov. 5.

Foreman will receive the award at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Saturday, February 18, 2017, in Dallas. Herschel Walker, the 2016 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient, will also be honored at the banquet.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The recipient of the Doak Walker Award is chosen by a National Selection Committee comprised of members of the media and former players.

###

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The Home Depot College Football Awards air from the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Live on ESPN on December 8, 2016, college football's brightest stars are honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward

