

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 24, 2023

Contact: Jeff Lockhart lockhart@smu.edu 214-768-4314

OKLAHOMA STATE'S GORDON II IS DOAK WALKER NATIONAL RUNNING BACK OF THE WEEK

Sophomore earns honors for second straight week after 282-yard performance vs. West Virginia

DALLAS (SMU) – Oklahoma State running back **Ollie Gordon II** ran for a season Division I FBS single-game best 282 yards and four touchdowns in a 48-34 win over West Virginia. The performance earned him the Doak Walker National Running Back of the Week honor for games of the weekend of Oct. 21. It's the second straight week Gordon has been honored by the Doak Walker Award.

Gordon burst on to the national scene last week with 284 yards from scrimmage on 29 carries and six receptions last week. After just 19 carries through the first three games of the season, the sophomore from Fort Worth, Texas, eclipsed the 100-yard rushing mark for a fourth straight game and now has nine total touchdowns, seven in the last three weeks.

In the win over West Virginia, three of his touchdowns came in the fourth quarter on runs of 16, 46 and 53 yards. On the afternoon, Gordon had five runs of more than 25 yards. Gordon is first Cowboy with four rushing touchdowns in a game since Rennie Childs on Sept. 17, 2016, against Pitt and the 282 yards are the most rushing yards by a Cowboy since All-American and Doak Walker Award finalist Chuba Hubbard ran for 296 yards against Kansas State on Sept. 28, 2019.

The Cowboys host Cincinnati on Saturday at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Other candidates for the honor in Week 8 included:

Nay-Quan Wright, South Florida: Wright carried 26 times for 186 yards and two scores in a 24-21 win at UConn. The graduate from Opa-Locka, Fla., posted career-bests in carries, yards and touchdowns, including runs of 30, 41 and 47 yards, the 47-yarder coming on the Bulls' game winning, 90-yard drive and moving the Bulls to the UConn 9. Wright scored the game-winning touchdown two plays later with 4:02 to play, completing a comeback from trailing 21-10 with 12:45 to play. Wright's 186 yards are the most by an AAC player on the 2023 season.

Walker Award presented by the PwC SMU Athletic Forum has been awarded to the nation's top running back since 1990. Since 2022, the award has recognized a national running back of the week. A select 20-person committee from the award's full voting body of media and past winners chooses the weekly recipient. On Aug. 9, a preseason candidates list was released and semifinalists for the award will be named on Nov. 21. A week later, the three finalists will be announced.

The 2023 Doak Walker Award winner will be unveiled live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards*, televised by ESPN on Dec. 7 or 8. The annual banquet, where the winner and the recipient of the 2024 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award will be honored, will take place in February in Dallas.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the **National College Football Awards Association**. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes college football's most prestigious awards and its 24 awards have honored more than 900 recipients dating back to 1935. This season, 12 NCFAA awards will honor national players of the week each Tuesday. For more information about the NCFAA and its award programs, visit the redesigned NCFAA.org or follow on X at @NCFAA.

For more information on the Doak Walker Award, contact Jeff Lockhart (lockhart@smu.edu) at the PwC SMU Athletic Forum, visit smu.edu/doakwalkeraward and follow on X at @DoakWalkerAward.



2023 DOAK WALKER NATIONAL RUNNING BACKS OF THE WEEK

• Week 1 (Sept. 2)	Dylan Edwards, Colorado	• Week 7 (Oct. 14) Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State	e
• Week 2 (Sept. 9)	Omarion Hampton, North Carolina	Week 8 (Oct. 21) Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State	e
• Week 3 (Sept. 16)	Trevor Etienne, Florida	 Week 9 (Oct. 28) 	
• Week 4 (Sept. 23)	DJ Giddens, Kansas State	• Week 10 (Nov. 4)	
• Week 5 (Sept. 30)	Ray Davis, Kentucky	 Week 11 (Nov 11) 	
• Week 6 (Oct. 7)	Trey Benson, Florida State	 Week 12 (Nov. 18) 	

2023 DOAK WALKER AWARD PRESEASON CANDIDATES LIST

Rasheen Ali, Marshall Braelon Allen, Wisconsin Kaytron Allen, Penn State LeQuint Allen, Syracuse Emani Bailey, TCU Sieh Bangura, Ohio Jovantae Barnes, Oklahoma Kevorian Barnes, UTSA Trey Benson, Florida State Tahj Brooks, Texas Tech Antario Brown, NIU Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB Noah Cain, LSU Marcus Carroll, Georgia State Blake Corum, Michigan Marguis Crosby, Louisiana Tech CJ Donaldson Jr., West Virginia Donovan Edwards, Michigan Justice Ellison, Wake Forest Davion Ervin-Poindexter, WKU Audric Estimé, Notre Dame Samson Evans, Eastern Michigan Pat Garwo, Boston College Rodney Hammond Jr., Pitt Deion Hankins, UTEP

Rahjai Harris, East Carolina RJ Harvey, UCF Roman Hemby, Maryland TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State Daniel Hishaw Jr., Kansas George Holani, Boise State Bucky Irving, Oregon Kaleb Johnson, Iowa Kobe Johnson, Colorado State Austin Jones, USC Jawhar Jordan, Louisville Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss Reggie Love III, Illinois Jaylin Lucas, Indiana Jo'Quavious Marks, Mississippi State Damien Martinez, Oregon State Tony Mathis Jr., Houston Alton McCaskill, Colorado Josh McCray, Illinois Chez Mellusi, Wisconsin Devin Mockobee, Purdue Devin Neal, Kansas Nate Noel, App State Jaydn Ott, California Frank Peasant, Middle Tennessee

Richard Reese, Baylor Aidan Robbins, BYU Kairee Robinson, San Jose State Raheim Sanders, Arkansas Trey Sanders, TCU Will Shipley, Clemson Nicholas Singleton, Penn State Cam Skattebo, Arizona State Jabari Small, Tennessee Dontae Smith, Georgia Tech E.J. Smith, Stanford Kavosiey Smoke, Colorado Carson Steele, UCLA Bhayshul Tuten, Virginia Tech Kimani Vidal, Troy Treshaun Ward, Kansas State Dre'lyn Washington, Louisiana Nakia Watson, Washington State La'Damian Webb, South Alabama Noah Whittington, Oregon Michael Wiley, Arizona Sy'veon Wilkerson, Colorado Josh Williams, LSU Miyan Williams, Ohio State Jaylen Wright, Tennessee