

For Immediate Release October 28, 2015

2015 Doak Walker Award Candidate List Updated

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the updated candidate list for the 2015 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

Along with the preseason candidates, which are nominated by their respective universities, Dalvin Cook (So., Florida State), Tyler Ervin (Sr., San Jose State), Brian Hill (So., Wyoming), C.J. Prosise (Sr., Notre Dame) and Mike Warren (Fr., Iowa State) were added to the candidate list.

LSU junior Leonard Fournette currently leads the nation in rushing yards per game (193.1) and rushing touchdowns (15). Cook is second in the NCAA with 148.1 yards per game, while Ervin is averaging 144.9 yards per game.

The complete list of candidates follows:

Leon Allen (Sr.), Western Kentucky Devontae Booker (Sr.), Utah Matt Breida (Jr.), Georgia Southern Brandon Burks (Sr.), Troy Jordan Canzeri (Sr.), Iowa Tra Carson (Sr.), Texas A&M Nick Chubb (So.), Georgia Corey Clement (Jr.), Wisconsin Alex Collins (Jr.), Arkansas James Conner (Jr.), Pittsburgh Dalvin Cook (So.), Florida State Marcus Cox (Jr.), Appalachian State Justin Davis (Jr.), USC Matt Dayes (Jr.), North Carolina State Kenneth Dixon (Sr.), Louisiana Tech Ezekiel Elliott (Jr.), Ohio State Tyler Ervin (Sr.), San Jose State Kenneth Farrow (Sr.), Houston Josh Ferguson (Sr.), Illinois Tarean Folston (Jr.), Notre Dame Leonard Fournette (So.), LSU Jarvion Franklin (So.), Western Michigan Royce Freeman (So.), Oregon Wayne Gallman (So.), Clemson Michael Gordon (Sr.), Arkansas State Johnathan Gray (Sr.), Texas Aaron Green (Sr.), TCU Travis Greene (Sr.), Bowling Green Russell Hansbrough (Sr.), Missouri Derrick Henry (Jr.), Alabama

Brian Hill (So.), Wyoming Jon Hilliman (So.), Boston College Jordan Howard (Jr.), Indiana Kareem Hunt (Jr.), Toledo LaJuan Hunt (So.), Utah State Darius Jackson (Sr.), Eastern Michigan Don Jackson (Sr.), Nevada Justin Jackson (So.), Northwestern Paul James (Sr.), Rutgers Devon Johnson (Sr.), Marshall Aaron Jones (Jr.), UTEP Daniel Lasco (Sr.), California Ray Lawry (So.), Old Dominion Shock Linwood (Jr.), Baylor Robert Lowe (Sr.), Texas State Akeel Lynch (Jr.), Penn State Marlon Mack (So.), South Florida Tre Madden (Sr.), USC Christian McCaffrey (So.), Stanford Elijah McGuire (Jr.), Louisiana-Lafayette Samaje Perine (So.), Oklahoma Paul Perkins (Jr.), UCLA Christian Powell (Sr.), Colorado Shaquille Powell (Sr.), Duke C.J. Prosise (Sr.), Notre Dame Donnel Pumphrey (Jr.), San Diego State Demario Richard (So.), Arizona State Ashton Shumpert (Jr.), Mississippi State William Stanback (Jr.), UCF Chris Swain (Sr.), Navy

Anthone Taylor (Sr.), Buffalo Jahad Thomas (Jr.), Temple Shane Tucker (Jr.), Middle Tennessee Thomas Tyner (Jr.), Oregon Marteze Waller (Sr.), Fresno State Mike Warren (Fr.), Iowa State DeAndre Washington (Sr.), Texas Tech Dwayne Washington (Jr.), Washington Ralph Webb (So.), Vanderbilt Shaun Wick (Sr.), Wyoming Brandon Wilds (Sr.), South Carolina Jamaal Williams (Sr.), BYU Jonathan Williams (Sr.), Arkansas Nick Wilson (So.), Arizona

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists on November 18, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the three finalists, which will be announced on November 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 30 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2015 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards* on Thursday, December 10, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas on February 19, 2016.

The award, which will name its 26th recipient in 2015, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 26 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

> -doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-