Contact: Jeff Lockhart (214) 768-4314 lockhart@smu.edu



For Immediate Release December 10, 2015

Alabama's Derrick Henry Tabbed 2015 Doak Walker Award Recipient

ATLANTA –Derrick Henry of Alabama is the 2015 Doak Walker Award recipient, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday at the *Home Depot College Football Awards* from the College Football Hall of Fame.

Henry, a junior from Yulee, Fla., leads the nation in total rushing yards (1,986) and rushing touchdowns (23), while sitting second in yards per game at 152.8. Additionally, Henry eclipsed the 200-yard mark four times this season, including a season-high output of 271 yards against Auburn on Nov. 28. His 1,986 yards broke Herschel Walker's single-season SEC rushing record, which had stood since 1981. Henry is Alabama's second recipient of the award, joining 2011 winner Trent Richardson, and fifth from the SEC (Garrison Hearst, 1992; Darren McFadden, 2006 and 2007; Richardson, 2011).

"Derrick is an outstanding recipient of the Doak Walker Award," Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee member and award presenter Verne Lundquist said. "I had the privilege of watching him in person on seven separate occasions this season so I can testify to his strength, his speed, and, most significantly, his durability. He carried the ball ninety times in the last two games. Think about that. I get tired just typing that sentence."

Henry will receive the award at the Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet on Friday, February 19, 2016, in Dallas. Barry Sanders, the 2015 PwC Doak Walker Legends Award recipient, will also be honored at the banquet.

The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

The recipient of the Doak Walker Award is chosen by a National Selection Committee comprised of members of the media and former players.

###

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com

Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward