

For Immediate Release November 24, 2015

Leonard Fournette, Derrick Henry and Christian McCaffrey Selected as 2015 Doak Walker Award Finalists

DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum today announced **Leonard Fournette** of LSU, **Derrick Henry** of Alabama, and **Christian McCaffrey** of Stanford as the three finalists for the 2015 Doak Walker Award. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee determined the finalists after ranking the 11 semifinalists.

The Committee will cast a second ballot, due on the Monday following Championship Saturday, to determine the recipient of the 2015 Doak Walker Award. The recipient will be announced on ESPN during *The Home Depot 25th Anniversary College Football Awards* airing live from the College Football Hall of Fame in downtown Atlanta on Thursday, December 10, at 7 p.m. (ET). The award will be presented at the 2015 Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet in Dallas on Friday, February 19, 2016.

Fournette, a sophomore from New Orleans, leads the nation in total rushing yards with 1,582 and in rushing yards per game at 158.2. He is also tied for fourth nationally with 17 rushing touchdowns. Fournette had three-straight games this season in which he eclipsed the 200-yard mark, including a 244-yard output against Syracuse.

Henry, a junior from Yulee, Fla., leads all running backs with 21 scores on the ground. He is also fourth nationally in total rushing yards (1,526) and sixth in rushing yards per game (138.7). Henry has rushed for more than 200 yards three times with a high mark of 236 against Texas A&M on Oct. 17.

McCaffrey, a sophomore from Castle Rock, Colo., is the nation's leader in all-purpose yardage, racking up 2,807 yards for an average of 255.18 per game.

-more-

He is second nationally with 1,546 yards rushing and fourth in yards per game at 140.5. McCaffrey has rushed for seven TDs, caught three, passed for one and has one kickoff return touchdown.

Fournette is vying to become LSU's first recipient of the Doak Walker Award, while Henry and McCaffrey are attempting to become their school's second representative. Toby Gerhart of Stanford claimed the award in 2009 and Trent Richardson of Alabama was the 2011 recipient.

In addition to outstanding performance on the field, candidates for the Doak Walker Award must have demonstrated records of leadership and exhibited the characteristics of sportsmanship and fair play associated with Doak Walker.

Now in its 26th year, the award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. The versatile Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships and brought the school into the national spotlight. Walker was drafted by the Detroit Lions and as a rookie led the league in scoring. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 26 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football's brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field.

doakwalkeraward.com Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward

