SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE MINUTES

May 16, 2012

1. Welcome

Hilary Stap - intern for Office of Risk Management for the summer Kirim - Graduate Engineering student who will help with the website (through Site Corp)

2. Approve Minutes Motion to approve minutes: Lisa, 2nd: Darrin. Minutes approved

3. Treasurer's report:

Kim asked to Utilize 1,000 for future giveaway bookmarks and Darrin brought forward need to purchase items to giveaway during Mustang Corral. Have \$3700 remaining in the budget.

4. Summer meeting date
Thursday, July 19 (Noon in Blanton)
Motion: Lisa, 2nd: George. Meeting date approved. Darrin will serve as recording secretary

5. Status of AASHE student applications

We selected student applicants: Gwen Carris, Jewel Lipps, Jingjing Yang, and Zachary King Bonnie and (possibly Raj) for attendance as conference advisor

6. CAP update

145 page working document and there is a pdf document. Please email Kim if you want to receive the pdf (still a working document)

Raj needs to add people, please email him for access to the sustainability documents in inside.smu.edu site.

7. Proposed bylaw change to expand/redefine membership. Changes description of one member and adds 6 voting positions:

- ? To replace Executive Director Facilities Management and Services or designee with Senior Director of Facilities Services (Aramark) or a designee. Keith Gardner, Senior Dir. Facilities Services (Aramark) would like to join committee.
- ? Office of Community Engagement and Leadership one representative
- ? Office of Human Resources would formalize position currently held by at-large member Lourdes Bravo as a permanent committee position
- ?
- ? Undergrad Student representatives (one each):

1) Dedman College Environmental Studies or Science program

2) Lyle School Environmental and Civil Engineering dept.

- ? Environmental Representative (E-Rep) -one representative
- ? Community Garden one representative: Elaine Heath, Perkins School, is interested in joining. New edition of community garden moved by Sorority Row.

Go to minimum of 26 and maximum of 32

Have someone go search for student representatives (for SBS, Environmental Society, and Student Government). Secretary will help Chair to confirm membership and fill any existing student spaces

Motion: Bonnie 2nd: Lisa. Amendments to the bylaws unanimously approved.

8. Proposed subcommittee structure and chairs.

Raj recommended placing a shared-calendar on inside.smu.edu for committee members to be aware of

Four subcommittees:

- ? OPERATIONS: Focused on the physical processes of SMU sustainability, including recycling, green purchasing, and utilities management, potential contract services such as Zip Car or Ride-a-Roo, and year-to-year adjustments to the Climate Action Plan. ONE CHAIR.
- ? EDUCATION AND AWARENESS: Directed toward behavior change through speakers, films, presentations, educational competitions like the Green Minute Video Contest, and eventual programs such as Student Grants for Sustainability. ONE CHAIR
- ? MARKETING: Responsible for carrying SMU's commitment to sustainability to our internal and external audience, through news releases, presentations to outside groups, an enhanced web presence, collaboration with treasurer on annual report. Will work to publicize campus sustainability events to internal audience. ONE CHAIR
- ? STUDENT INITIATIVES: Responsible for building bridges between students and Sustainability Committee and providing support for important student initiatives like Recycle Mania and Barefoot on the Boulevard. Committee members would make contact at beginning of each year with Student Senate, campus environmental groups already represented on the committee, Service House, Greeks. Our AASHE attendees should work with this group, even if unable to attend monthly committee meetings. TWO CHAIRS: ONE STUDENT, ONE FACULTY OR STAFF Jennifer Smith as Student Nominee , Katie Bell as staff nominee (Darrin submitted, not a current member of the committee) Chairs could Work closely with Office of Engagement

Motion to adopt: Raj 2nd: Bonnie. Motion Approved

Selection of Operations Chair for 2012-2013. Motion: Bonnie, 2nd: George. Eric English Operations Sub-Committee Chair approved Selection of Education & Awareness Chair for 2012-2013. Motion: Eric, 2nd: Bonnie. Lisa Wall Education and Awareness Sub-committee Approved Selection of Marketing Chair for 2012-2013. Motion: Chris, 2nd: Lisa. Kim Cobb Approved as Sub-Committee Marketing Approved Defer selecting Student Initiatives until July meeting

9. Proposed bylaw change to define executive committee membership:

? The executive committee would consist of the chair, chair-elect, subcommittee chairs (including co-chairs for student initiatives subcommittee) treasurer and secretary. Nine members total. Chair would not serve on any subcommittees; treasurer and secretary must not sit on same subcommittee. *NOTE: Current bylaws define Executive Committee membership as the Chairperson, the Chairperson-Elect, two faculty members (including one from the Environmental Studies program), two staff members, one student. QUESTION: How shall we keep both faculty and staff representation on the executive committee? Is that important?*

Look at filling faculty into more at-large roles and just be mindful of having representatives Darrin brought forward idea of working closely with the Hunt Institute

Motion: George, 2nd: Bonnie. Amendment Approved

10. Duties of Secretary, Treasurer

As presented at previous meeting and presented during meeting

Secretary. Motion: Raj 2nd: Stanley. Approved Secretary descriptions

Treasurer .Motion: Eric, 2nd: Sarah. Approved Treasurer descriptions

11. Old Business

None

12. New Business

*Pat Van Zandt from the committee is leaving the University for UT-Knoxville. Congratulations to Pat Van Zandt and thank you for your service to the committee!

*Bonnie: think of a big focus for the next year and a special initiative of the committee and talk about at the next meeting.